We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and delicious”

Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 664 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Winston Salem
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I have been eating here at least once a week for 9 years. We love it. The food is great, the service is wonderful. Lots and lots of people come here regularly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Laid Back Atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great quality, flavorful, & quick, friendly, service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestAries13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Favorite with many in this area”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My favorites are the salad with carrot dressing, udon noodles. Everyone very friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank fava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is our favorite sushi restaurant in Winston salem and we have tried them all. Quality is top notch. The gyoza dumplings are the best I've ever had. The staff is fun and friendly and always takes time to get to know their customers. Food, esp sushi, is so good that even people who aren't "sushi people" will find it fantastic and might just find a love for sushi they never knew they had. Our favorite nigiri is the BBQ eel. Our favorite nori maki is the Dragon Roll and the Sakura Roll. The Dragon Roll contains BBQ eel,avacado,tempura shrimp and crab mix. Make sure to have the waitress bring a side of Lobster Sauce and a side of Gyoza Sauce for dipping. The Sakura Roll contains tempura eel,salmon,shrimp,white tuna,cucumber,avacado and cream cheese. The both are well priced at$10.95 and both rolls contain nice sized portions. The nigiri BBQ eel prices at $4.00 for 2 pieces and they
are worth every penny. Our other favorite is the Yum Yum Roll. Priced at $10.95, Yum Yum contains tuna,salmon,yellow tail,cream cheese and the entire roll is deep fried and served with a seaweed salad. The seaweed salad is not my particular favorite but we have many friends who LOVE it! Great place,great food,great location,great experience. We eat here at least once a month and will be back again and again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great feed for the money”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

When deciding where to go out I must meet the criteria of good and healthy. Add budget and look no further than this place. I typically order seaweed salad, miso soup, and some assorted sushi to get my family started. Then we get two or three entrees depending on how hungry to crew is...portions are very generous. Most entrees come with choice of soup or salad so we get plenty of fresh made, healthy food and the best part is that all of this plus tip is usually less than $40!

Ichiban is definitely on the frequent visit list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UltraStar175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing