We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winston Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Augustus T. Zevely Inn
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a treat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

We were nervous about booking after reading the reviews, but found new management on site. Everyone welcomed us like family, and were always very gracious if we needed anything. Breakfast was very nice (great coffee!)--fresh fruit, fresh breads. Will definitely come back and stay again, when in the area! It was such a relaxing and warm place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    33
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
94
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2006

I contacted Larry Arnold, the Innkeeper, after my wife and I had a horrible experience at this inn and he did reimburse us for our stay. We told him a lady named Jean was so rude to us, but her name was actually Regina; Jean is a nickname. We were pleased that, at least, Larry tried to make everything right by refunding our money for the horrific experience. We also promised him we would let people know that he reimbursed us. We were disappointed that we were told the owner, Mr. Thomas Lantry, was going to call and discuss the situation with us and he never called, but at least the fair thing was done in reimbursing our money. Even still, we will never be staying there again. It was just too awful of an experience. Larry seems to give good service, but we only got to interact with him over the phone and after the fact. Unfortunately, he is not always there, and we were just one of the unlucky couples who did not get to do business with him face-to-face; we had to deal with Regina. Maybe our experience would have been more positive had he been the one to greet us and supervise our stay. There is just no excuse for rudeness and misrepresentation of services, dirty rooms, a scummy bathtub that we were afraid to sit in, no air conditioning without telling the guests before they pay for the room, poor quality of food and poor, poor customer service. We ended up leaving early, ruining what we had hoped would be an enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2006

Well, to begin with we arrived on Friday evening planning to meet friends of ours who had traveled from wyoming. when we arrived instead of being greeted by Larry or Dave, our previous innkkeepers, we were greeted by someone named Regina. Our room had accidentally been given to another person....understandible mistake;however, we were not even given an apology simply ushered to another room without so much as a welcome! We thought the evening would definantly get better.....we were mistaken...we attended wine and cheese only to find an open bottle of wine and grapes that were frozen partially and had brown spots on them. The cheese had mold on it and when we asked Regina for fresh cheese she simply told us "that was the mark of the good stuff!" Oh my, we began to worry at this point. We slept well, and when arriving at breakfast found the food to be cold.........a fritata, canned fruit and bagels that were quite stale were offered. A saran wrap covered bowl of jelly, wet fruit served with a common spoon for everyone made us feel very uncomfortable. we asked Regina for something different and were told that was all there was. We did not eat. We will never again return to the inn.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2006

Stayed here for a third time while visiting our daughter in Winston Salem. Our stay was for two nights. We had reserved the Augustus T. Zevely room three months in advance because we had stayed there previously and enjoyed the room and setting. When we arrived - there was only one other party at the B&B who was a "walk in" and the innkeeper had given them the room we had specifically reserved months before. Amazing - and even more amazing was that the innkeeper didn't understand why we would be disappointed with that.

We ended staying in nice room another floor up which was nicely furnished, but at the rear of the house. The location is great being in the center of Old Salem and still close to downtown and the universities. Breakfast on the weekdays is cold cereal, juice, bananas, apples, and a bag of grocery bought bagels. Definitely nothing special. Weekends get a bit better with eggs and/or pancakes. There was no wine/cheese served on the weekdays, but there was during the weekend.

As said earlier, this was our third stay here. Only one time out of three were we given the room we had reserved. Breakfast during the week is dismal but improves dramatically on the weekend. The rooms are nicely furnished if you can get by the logistical problems - but for over $125/night in Winston Salem, you can do better.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrDoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2006

There is always a first for everything, and our recent stay at the Augustus T. Zevely Inn was our first unpleasant stay at a B&B. We arrived with high expectations after having a pleasant experience with the staff during the reservation process. However upon check-in, things quickly headed south. The room that we reserved had been rented to someone else, and we were charged more for the room that we were given in return than we would have been charged for our original room. Then after failing to offer a greeting, the hostess asked us for our credit card, told us to fill out some paperwork and made it clear to us that children under 12 are not welcome, despite this comment on the Inn's web-site, "Children are welcome as long as they will respect the historic fabric of the building, the value of the antiques, and are sensitive to the presence of our other guests." (Our 5-year-old daughter traveled with us for this trip.)
We decided to try to make the best of it, but it just kept getting worse! Our room was stifling hot. We overheard the hostess tell another guest that the air-conditioning would not be turned on because no one was available to turn it on. However, the heat was on and the floors are heated, in addition...a luxury for the winter months, but not on an 80 degree day. There's so much more to tell, but all could have been somewhat more bearable had the hostess not been condescending and rude to us and especially to our daughter.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2005

Three ladies in our family just returned from visiting Old Salem and a fabulous stay at the Augustus T. Zevely Inn. As soon as we crossed the threshold we were treated like queens and very warmly welcomed by Larry, the Innkeeper as well as all of the other very friendly people staying at the inn. You feel as if you have gone back in time as you live in the beautifully restored 200+ year old inn. Our gourmet breakfast each morning was wonderful. We enjoyed the wine and cheese gathering each evening in front of the charming fireplace. We could not have been more pleased and felt that it was an unbelieveable bargain. We stayed on the ground floor which slept three and were very pleased with the easy accessibility for my mother in law and right in the middle of Old Salem. Larry made our time at the inn so special. We will never consider going elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susiebell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

If you want to be treated like you were at your best friends house come here. My sisters and I spent a night celebrating our birthdays. Dave and Larry went out of their way to make the dining room look special with silver, candlelabras, china and crystal surrounding the homemade cake. They both were so friendly. The room we chose was the winter kitchen which accommodated us three very well. Love the furnishings and the cleanliness. Our only regret is that we didn't have another night to spend. We were able to enjoy the company of all the guest who shared in the celebration. Great experience.The weather was perfect. The color of the leaves breath taking. Can't wait to go to Old Salem again. LOVED the city. The Salem Inn is a must. We ate there twice. Also rock till your hearts content on the porch. Lovely Inn. Parking is great too. Count me in for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcculloughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus T. Zevely Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus T. Zevely Inn

Property: Augustus T. Zevely Inn
Address: 803 South Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Augustus t. Zevely Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing