We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Worst B&B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winston Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Augustus T. Zevely Inn
A TripAdvisor Member
“Our Worst B&B Experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2006

There is always a first for everything, and our recent stay at the Augustus T. Zevely Inn was our first unpleasant stay at a B&B. We arrived with high expectations after having a pleasant experience with the staff during the reservation process. However upon check-in, things quickly headed south. The room that we reserved had been rented to someone else, and we were charged more for the room that we were given in return than we would have been charged for our original room. Then after failing to offer a greeting, the hostess asked us for our credit card, told us to fill out some paperwork and made it clear to us that children under 12 are not welcome, despite this comment on the Inn's web-site, "Children are welcome as long as they will respect the historic fabric of the building, the value of the antiques, and are sensitive to the presence of our other guests." (Our 5-year-old daughter traveled with us for this trip.)
We decided to try to make the best of it, but it just kept getting worse! Our room was stifling hot. We overheard the hostess tell another guest that the air-conditioning would not be turned on because no one was available to turn it on. However, the heat was on and the floors are heated, in addition...a luxury for the winter months, but not on an 80 degree day. There's so much more to tell, but all could have been somewhat more bearable had the hostess not been condescending and rude to us and especially to our daughter.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
98
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2005

Three ladies in our family just returned from visiting Old Salem and a fabulous stay at the Augustus T. Zevely Inn. As soon as we crossed the threshold we were treated like queens and very warmly welcomed by Larry, the Innkeeper as well as all of the other very friendly people staying at the inn. You feel as if you have gone back in time as you live in the beautifully restored 200+ year old inn. Our gourmet breakfast each morning was wonderful. We enjoyed the wine and cheese gathering each evening in front of the charming fireplace. We could not have been more pleased and felt that it was an unbelieveable bargain. We stayed on the ground floor which slept three and were very pleased with the easy accessibility for my mother in law and right in the middle of Old Salem. Larry made our time at the inn so special. We will never consider going elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susiebell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2005

If you want to be treated like you were at your best friends house come here. My sisters and I spent a night celebrating our birthdays. Dave and Larry went out of their way to make the dining room look special with silver, candlelabras, china and crystal surrounding the homemade cake. They both were so friendly. The room we chose was the winter kitchen which accommodated us three very well. Love the furnishings and the cleanliness. Our only regret is that we didn't have another night to spend. We were able to enjoy the company of all the guest who shared in the celebration. Great experience.The weather was perfect. The color of the leaves breath taking. Can't wait to go to Old Salem again. LOVED the city. The Salem Inn is a must. We ate there twice. Also rock till your hearts content on the porch. Lovely Inn. Parking is great too. Count me in for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcculloughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2005

I stayed here for two days recently and was quite pleased with it. The innkeeper was very friendly and courteous, and though our room was on the ground floor directly across from the housekeeper/janitor room they didn't bother us a bit and were helpful when we needed them. The room itself was very clean, and had all the standard hotel variety amenities including cable tv. As the other reviews noted they serve wine and cheese in the evenings, and the breakfast on both days was delicious as prepared by the innkeeper himself. This bed and breakfast is also right in Old Salem making all the sights right within walking distance, and it is directly across from the Salem Tavern. The only complaints I can muster is the noise from the upper floors caused by people stepping on the old wooden floors, and our room's lock was difficult to open at times. But, all in all I was satisfied so I do recommend this place for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2005

Ever been to a conference for work and wish you had a cozier place to stay than the hosting hotel? With this in mind, I booked a room at the August T. Zevely Inn, complete with fireplace. I lured my husband away from his business for an overnight getaway.
I guess I should have suspected a lack of professionalism when I did not receive a response to my email and it took the innkeeper two days to return my follow-up telephone call.
However, I reserved judgment because I know we all get swamped and the inn looked so quaint on the website. Who hasn't been misled by selective photography on the Web?
From a bed and breakfast, one generally expects little extras, fluffy pillows, nice towels, gracious hosts, etc. That's why we go to B&B's right?
Here was our experience:
1. First floor room meant basement, entrance under a soggy stairway complete with cobwebs. Inside dank and not quite clean, bugs, and plenty of mildew. Stinky.
2. Thin, scratchy towels and a bathroom sink that leaked on your foot.
3. Breakfast: Bags of bagels and economy-sized Folgers
4. The maid, after smoking a cigarette outside of our doorway and yelling at the innkeeper, barged into our room without knocking and wanted to know if we were ready to leave yet. It was 10:15 am.
5. Did I mention the fireplace? Oh yes, it was filthy and inoperable.

So much for romance.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We were only able to stay in Old Salem for one night. We booked ahead of time and were very pleased with our choice. The 3 people we met were extremely helpful and wonderful to talk to. Our room was clean and comfortable and we were surprised it had a TV with remote which was nice. There are several areas to sit -either outside in rocking chairs or in the front parlor. (we played checkers there until dinner across the street) They served wine and cheese in the evening and had a light breakfast in the morning which was very nice. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting Old Salem and wants to immerse themselves in the village and historical context.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhxtoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2004

We stayed here one night on our honeymoon in mid-september. It was nice, clean. Wine was available in the evening. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. We ate across the street which was good and then felt safe walking around the area at night (near campus). Doors are a little sticky and we felt the whole world would wake up when we opened it.

Helpful?
2 Thank legolaceration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
621 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.6 mi away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus T. Zevely Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus T. Zevely Inn

Property: Augustus T. Zevely Inn
Address: 803 South Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5332
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Augustus t. Zevely Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing