We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$114
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$84
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookstown Inn(Winston Salem)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graylyn Estate(Winston Salem)
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
117
36
21
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
36
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastold salemb bsback porchquiet place to stayyogurtbreakfast was deliciouscookiestwo storyeach morningeach eveningspent one nightwake forestaugustuslindatavernparlor
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We stayed for only one night and should have stayed for two. The Housekeeper and staff welcomed us with a smile and made us feel very welcomed and at home. The Zevely was very comfortable, well appointed and clean. We certainly enjoyed our room and its comfort, spacious room, the A/C was amazingly quiet, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom a little tight but to be expected, and a good view (corner room). The breakfast was home made and very good (a nice change from your standard Hotel version). We liked the location and walked through the entire historic district (the Zevely is right in the middle of it), We will certainly recommend this B&B to our friends and will return whenever we get back into the Winston Salem area. Try it out yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, corner room with fire place, "Southern Charm".
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank assefa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Old Salem is such a special place where people can step back into a quieter, more serene time. We will welcome you back when you return to the Winston Salem area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

We frequent b&bs and small inns when we travel. When choosing them, we read TA reviews and research the area. When leaving reviews, I consider location, accommodations, amenities, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, extras, etc. What we have found is that a place can get all stars on all of that, but there is something else. That extra star comes from an outstanding staff and the Zevely has it. From the moment we arrived when Linda made us feel right at home until that departure hug from Harriet, we felt welcomed as old friends. Several couples talked about it at breakfast our 3rd morning there. We all felt it. So to the Zevely....the 6th star.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

We appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful review and love the extra star you gave the Inn! Indeed, Harriet is a wonderful new addition to our staff. She is a kind and gentle soul who truly enjoys our guests. We hope you will visit us again. It is always a pleasure to hear that our efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We traveled here Sept 17-21 for our 29th Wedding Anniversary -- from the moment we walked in the door we are greeted with the warmest of hospitality. The Ann Lavinia room was very clean comfortable private with a wonderful view on the second floor. There is a porch and quiet beautiful sitting area to relax. The hot breakfast buffet style is spectacular yet very personable. The location is in the heart of Old Salem. The Tavern across the street is also very friendly and has the most delicious food imaginable. On our second morning, we expected a small continental breakfast but we enjoyed made to order eggs and bacon. Do not let any negative comments or reviews deter you -- come and stay here !!! You will not be disappointed !! We can't wait to return and stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

We are delighted that you decided to share your anniversary with us at the Zevely Inn and enjoyed your hot breakfasts in the morning. We appreciate your positive comments and encouragement. The staff works hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their holiday experience. Old Salem Museums and Gardens as well at the Salem Tavern add a special touch to that experience as well. Hopefully, you will think of a stay at the Zevely Inn for a future anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

The positives: If you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of Old Salem, the Zevely is positioned perfectly. This is a quiet inn, depending upon the other guests. During our weekend stay, it was almost full and very quiet. There is a sitting room on the first floor, which is nice for conversations. There are two dining areas. One room just off of the sitting room would be perfect for a large group who wants to share the same table. The sunnier dining room has tables for 2-4. It has a tiny bar area (room for 1) that has coffee, tea, water and an ice machine and guests can help themselves any time. We stayed over a weekend, and they served a small buffet breakfast in the main hallway from 8-10am Sat/Sun. The menu was different, and they like to make casseroles, sometimes offering a veg. casserole. Both days yogurt and hard boiled eggs were available as well as a bread. One day had fresh fruit and the next that fruit was made into a bread pudding, so no fresh fruit except bananas, apples and oranges (which we didn't see until our last day as they were sitting in a window). All in all, a good experience.
Room for improvement: It's a bit confusing when you pick a room online with a name, and you get to the room and they go by a number. Picky, but it would be a nicer, more historic touch to have signs. The inn is more like a small hotel in that the hostess barely spoke to us and didn't ask if she could provide us with information about the area. Yes, there is an information area in Old Salem, yet when we stay at a place that calls itself a bed and breakfast, we have come to expect the host to speak to us, not just sit in the sitting room and read her book away from the guests. It was a bit odd.
A couple of pet peeves based upon all our travels and when we pay this much for a room: we expect good tp, and not the thin scratchy kind. They could easily go to Costco and get some instead of appearing to be miserly. The second is those darn Maggy Moos by the coffee. Fine to put out after breakfast, but during breakfast there should be milk or cream by the coffee. And real maple syrup instead of the low-grade corn syrup type. It's those little touches that make this place average instead of excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Thank you so much for your candid evaluation of the Augustus T Zevely Inn. We sincerely want each of our guests to thoroughly enjoy their visit with us. Typically at the time of check-in we answer any questions about the area and make suggestions concerning local attractions. We want our guests to explore and relax! Our goal is to serve each guest to our utmost, so that your stay is full of everything you want it to be, whether that is quiet relaxation or immersion in the local flavor. Should you find that you are not served to your liking, I wish you would please let me know directly and immediately so that I might rectify the situation. Additionally, I am generally on duty at the Inn. Should I be away, I am always accessible. Please leave a message at the front desk for my immediate attention.

Thank you so much for your recent visit. We enjoyed having you with us.
Linda Anderson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Our stay at the Zevely was the perfect one night escape. The room had a comfortable poster bed, a desk, and a view of the quiet side street.The Dutch door was a nice feature to use in the morning to let in the fresh air. We enjoyed sitting on the back porch in the evening.The inn is convenient to all of the shops, the bakery, and the Tavern restaurant in Old Salem.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back open out to a lovely wide porch.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinagirl1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Many of our guests write to tell us how much they enjoyed the time spent on the back porches, which are perfect places for a cup of morning coffee or contemplation in the evening. This aura of peace and tranquility makes a stay at the Zevely Inn a perfect escape from the stresses of every day life. We all love those Dutch doors too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews