We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly bad value! Criminal waste of a historic inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Augustus T. Zevely Inn
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We expected the usual lovely B&B experience with a welcoming hostess and nice breakfast. Here's what we got: Absent hostess -she came out to take our money and disappeared, no offer of infomation on anything, and a breakfast that is only surpassed by fast food chains - serve yourself with rancid OJ. Exterior was dirty and surprisingly ill kept including empty plastic milk jugs on the porch. We had to ask for any thing that resembled an amenity - like ice. Horribly disappointing - we had looked forward to staying at this historic inn for weeks. Won't recommend. Won't come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RHO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

The friendliness and caring attitude of the hostess, the more than adequate breakfast (fruit, yogurt, granola, eggs, french toast, sausages, juice and coffee), the ideal location, the charming room, the convenient and tasty meal at the Salem Tavern across the street all exceeded our expectations. But what we most enjoyed was the absolute peace and quiet and restful sleep we had during our recent stay. We stayed in room 201 and it was light filled, roomy, very clean with a nice firm mattress and a delightfuly cold a/c. Perfect for summer in the south.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank travelingal_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was my first trip to Winston Salem, and I really didn't know what to expect. The Zevely Inn is right in the heart of Old Salem Village which is one of the most picturesque places I've visited here. Linda, the hostess of the Zevely, was warm and friendly; the house itself is a pleasure to enter and stay at. While the furniture and decorations may not be period to the house, the location more than makes this a great place to stay over while visiting the old Village and Reynolda which is only about a fifteen minute drive. The Salem Tavern across the street has good food at a reasonable price, and there are several other choices about a ten minute walk towards downtown. Old Salem Village--and the Zevely--are wonderful gems.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is a charming place to stay in a convenient location. This B and B has historic charm, clean rooms, comfy beds, and great breakfast. The bathroom is very small and is were were staying for longer than a long weekend we might consider something else, but for a few nights it's simply perfect! The floors are creaky, as you'd expect in something that age. , so we'd recommend staying on the top floor as not to be bothered. We would definitely stay again! Highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: Upper level as floors are creaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was our second stay at this beautiful and historic inn, and we could not have been more pleased. We had a comfy room with fireplace and excellent bed. There was wine and cheese in the afternoon, and a snack when we came in after dinner. Breakfast was just excellent! Thanks so much for helping us get away from it all - if only for one night!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bramlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Zevely House, built in 1844, has been turned into a Bed and Breakfast right in the middle of Old Salem. We felt like we stepped back in time. The first house there was built in 1766. We ate dinner at the Salem Tavern right across the street from our B&B. (It was built in 1816.) At Zevely House, Linda and Lori treated us like favorite family members AND like honored guests. They served us wine, crackers and cheese, and other munchies before we left for dinner. Breakfasts were outstanding, and in the evening there would be fresh fruit and warm cookies waiting for us when we got back from dinner. We were made to feel so special. Because this was a private residence, we could hear voices from the room above us, but a dehumidifier in our room provided the perfect “white noise” to block the sound out. The bedrooms and the common rooms have been restored and furnished so we felt like we were in the mid-1800s, except for all the modern conveniences. Everything was very clean and well-run. Linda and Lori are outstanding hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilieandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed for two nights at this inn while on a business trip to nearby Salem College. The inn is historic, charming, very comfortable (nice bed), with excellent indoor heating/AC, and high-speed Wifi. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, with fruit, granola, fresh-baked muffins, and eggs. You can walk to downtown Winston-Salem in about 15 minutes, and the inn itself is on the main street in the old town. The innkeeper was very nice and incredibly accommodating. Upon arrival, I asked her if there was anywhere I could walk to for a cup of coffee-- and she promptly made some. On Tuesday morning, I was the only guest, so she let me choose when I wanted breakfast, and made me eggs to order. I highly recommend this accommodation for folks visiting the college or for tourists.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Jennifer_Ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 38 in Winston Salem
445 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus T. Zevely Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus T. Zevely Inn

Address: 803 South Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5332
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winston Salem
Price Range: $133 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustus T. Zevely Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Augustus T. Zevely Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus t. Zevely Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing