We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Graylyn Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Graylyn Estate
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Graylyn seems more like our own personal estate than a hotel.
It's quiet. The staff is friendly, but not obvious.
We loved the kitchen located on our floor and enjoyed our room with its bathroom tile, dated to the original owner.
The property is amazingly kept, beautiful AND comfortable - a rare combination.

  • Liked — house and grounds
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kadee1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    66
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
156
101
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Comfortable rooms, great food, wonderfully polite and efficient staff, stunning grounds, need I say more.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

This was supposed to be a romantic getaway, but turned into a night of no sleep and little comfort. I could not wait to return home. We were placed in a room with one bed the size of a double (although requested a King sized bed). Our room was sweltering hot, so we turned the thermostat down to 54 degrees and left for dinner. When we got back to the room, the temperature was more like 90 degrees. The front desk sent over maintenance, who although very nice was not only no help but reeked so badly of cigarettes our room smelled like cigarettes for a while. The maintenance brought in a fan that was broken - and helped little. Finally around 4am they had the brilliant idea of shutting off the heat. So then we were subjected to old pipes clanging as they cooled - that noise combined with the noise of fans being dragged into rooms around us kept us up until around 5am. We finally got to sleep at 5am, but then were woken up by the cleaning crew at 8am.

When I called the front desk to complain, the manager did not apologize for their lack of service and inability to provide a restful night sleep, but instead said "I'm sorry you feel that way," and "Can I bring you a cup of coffee."

The hotel did discount our room, but I feel as though I paid to be tortured for a night.

This is a poorly run hotel which is too bad as it has incredible character.

  • Liked — the property was beautiful
  • Disliked — service, room were both terrible
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bhapgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

We have stayed at hotels all over the world and this has to be among the best by far. Its an historic mansion converted to hotel and conference facility. The place is immaculate, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Free internet, al la carte breakfasts, huge bathrooms, luxurious beds, full free business facilities. This is what 5 star hotels should be like. It has indoor and outdoor pools, billiard room, formal and informal dining rooms, huge well kept grounds. We got a special deal for Thanksgiving and paid $99 per night which included the breakfast. If you are going to be in Winston-Salem you must stay here. We will definitely be going back to stay again.

  • Liked — Everything, cannot find fault anywhere, it sets the standard for everone else
  • Tips/Secrets — website is www.graylyn.com
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sdtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graylyn Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graylyn Estate

Property: Graylyn Estate
Address: 1900 Reynolda Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-5100 (Formerly Graylyn International Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Graylyn Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of Mr & Mrs Bowman Gray, Graylyn is now a historic boutique hotel with all of today's modern amenities. Graylyn features 85 well-appointed and uniquely decorated guest rooms attractively situated throughout the pristine 55-acre estate just minutes from downtown Winston-Salem. An unforgettable experience awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Graylyn Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graylyn International Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing