We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay”
Review of Graylyn Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graylyn Estate
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Graylyn when he was interviewing for a job at Wake Forest. When we arrived we were treated extremely well. They knew our name and valet parked our car. The grounds are spectacular. I sat out for a good portion of the day while my husband was interviewing. It is in a great neighborhood with easy access to everything.
The less than perfect aspects were:
- The room was on the top floor of the main house and it was disapointingly appointed after being wowed by the estate. It looked as though it was designed in the 80's, i.e. dated but not charming
- The next morning we were awakened by doors of neighboring rooms slamming shut
- I asked the front desk for advice on what to do/see while my husband was interviewing. The woman was very polite, but not friendly and quite unhelpful.
We didn't pay for our stay and it was overall pleasant, but I don't think I would pay the going rate for these accomodations in the future.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank AlmostAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 597 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2008

Lovely state located a few minutes outside Salem and with great access to Wake Forest Universtity. Beautiful grounds and buildings that seem to be taken from a time far away.
The rooms in the first floor are luxurious and old fashioned, you can have a good drink at the library or go downstairs to enjoy a cigar while playing billards. There are inside (closed) and outside pool, one tennis court.
The rooms are fairly big with great bathrooms, the bed is very confortable, but the carpet and chair have stains (it is kind of disgusting actually).
Free internet conection in every room and you can indulge yourself with free ice cream (ice cream room!).
The staff is very helpful (great southern manners) and provided us with a map with jogging trails. On the next day lent us bikes.
Breakfasts were great, but the other meals were only above average.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lucybelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The Graylyn property is beautiful but the room we stayed in was very disappointing. We stayed in the "Mews" section and our room was very outdated and did not seem to be clean. The bedspreads and carpeting were visibly stained and the furniture was old and damaged. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable and should have been replaced years ago. We were awakened every morning by the loud squealing of the plumbing coming from the room next door when they turned their shower on. Turn down service consisted of a card being placed in the room which noted the expected weather of the next day. The bath towels felt like sandpaper. Everything in the bathroom was old and dingy. We understood that the property was old and historic but this is no excuse for the state of the accomodations. It is way past time for a good cleaning and an update! Not worth the money and would never stay there again.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank lauraSantaAnaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend while we were visiting our daughter at Wake Forest University. I was excited to stay at this property and be pampered with luxury.
My husband and I arrived late afternoon on a Friday and were greeted warmly. We were escorted to a cluster of buildings that were not attached to the hotel. It is a charming set-up of buildings with a courtyard setting. This was the last time I felt that the area was charming. The hotel had set up a tent for a wedding reception in the courtyard and we were very apprehensive about the noise that would go on as the tent was set-up literally just a few feet from our door. Our fears were unfounded. We returned late that night after attending a Wake Forest sporting event and there was no one left in the tent area. We were awakened early the next morning by the clean-up crew and the maid cart on the cobblestoned courtyard. The noise was very annoying. We felt as though the hotel should have housed the guests attending the reception in the courtyard area and house the guests not associated with the reception in the main hotel.
The room was spacious and completely updated with a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was luxurious. When we watched television in bed, the footboard blocked one-half of the view of the television screen. Not a big deal, but a hotel like the Grayln should not have an issue like this.
The Grayln is a very nice, upscale hotel with great amenities. However, we felt a little like step-children being put in the area that was not part of the hotel. It was just unsettling.
I would give the property another try if they could guarantee a reservation in the hotel itself and not in one of the satellite areas. The Grayln is worth another try.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lchandler4285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Graylyn seems more like our own personal estate than a hotel.
It's quiet. The staff is friendly, but not obvious.
We loved the kitchen located on our floor and enjoyed our room with its bathroom tile, dated to the original owner.
The property is amazingly kept, beautiful AND comfortable - a rare combination.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kadee1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Comfortable rooms, great food, wonderfully polite and efficient staff, stunning grounds, need I say more.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

This was supposed to be a romantic getaway, but turned into a night of no sleep and little comfort. I could not wait to return home. We were placed in a room with one bed the size of a double (although requested a King sized bed). Our room was sweltering hot, so we turned the thermostat down to 54 degrees and left for dinner. When we got back to the room, the temperature was more like 90 degrees. The front desk sent over maintenance, who although very nice was not only no help but reeked so badly of cigarettes our room smelled like cigarettes for a while. The maintenance brought in a fan that was broken - and helped little. Finally around 4am they had the brilliant idea of shutting off the heat. So then we were subjected to old pipes clanging as they cooled - that noise combined with the noise of fans being dragged into rooms around us kept us up until around 5am. We finally got to sleep at 5am, but then were woken up by the cleaning crew at 8am.

When I called the front desk to complain, the manager did not apologize for their lack of service and inability to provide a restful night sleep, but instead said "I'm sorry you feel that way," and "Can I bring you a cup of coffee."

The hotel did discount our room, but I feel as though I paid to be tortured for a night.

This is a poorly run hotel which is too bad as it has incredible character.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bhapgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
656 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
2.4 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 38 in Winston Salem
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graylyn Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graylyn Estate

Address: 1900 Reynolda Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-5100 (Formerly Graylyn International Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $194 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Graylyn Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of Mr & Mrs Bowman Gray, Graylyn is now a historic boutique hotel with all of today's modern amenities. Graylyn features 85 well-appointed and uniquely decorated guest rooms attractively situated throughout the pristine 55-acre estate just minutes from downtown Winston-Salem. An unforgettable experience awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Graylyn Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graylyn International Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing