We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice classic steak house”

Cimarron Steakhouse
Ranked #201 of 665 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice classic steak house”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Cimarron has been around for awhile and frankly, we don't go there often. It's just off our beaten path.

However, the food is quite good and the place is usually packed. A reservation is a good idea on the weekend or you can expect a wait. The menu is a bit all over the place with everything from prime steaks to bar food. We've never really found a bad choice there. Only negative is that service can be slow and spotty.

Now to be fair, nothing on the menu there is in the running for the best I've ever eaten either. Cimarron does have good steaks and good fish generally well prepared and seasoned at a fair price. All of which adds up to a solid 4 dot rating in my book.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank a1963corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Cimarron Restaurant USED to be an excellent dining experience. That, however, has changed for the absolute worst! Due, I presume, to the new owners. The service was pathetic, it took at least 20 mins. to get the appetizer which was Lobster Mac & Cheese, or so they called it. It was not worth the price. Our entrees arrived at least 30 mins. after that, with no bread served in between. We finally asked for some bread and got it about 10 mins. later as the waitress ( and I use the term loosely) announced that we got the last 2 rolls...and we care about this because???
When the entrees were finally delivered to our table, which, by the way, was never cleared of the appetizer dishes, and the roll basket, my ribs had been cremated on one side which rendered them inedible on that side. The 3 stems of asparagus were not bad however. My husband ordered Tile fish which the waitress said had the consistency of crab.....NOT!!! I tasted it and it had no taste or seasoning that distinguished it from any other bland fish, and most definitely did not resemble crab in any way whatsoever!! It was on a bed of cheesy risotto, which he said wasn't bad. The screaming kids didn't help the experience either. This used to be a really great restaurant. Too bad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyO897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Been to Cimarron several times. One of our favorites for special occasions. Itimate & satisfying dining experiene. Had filet mignon, loaded baked potato, vegetables with salad and rolls. Everthing was perfect. Waitress was very good, kept tabs on needs without constant interruption.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wannabe”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Would never judge a restaurant by only one visit, but my first experience had a lot to be desired. Steak was decent, and so we're the sides. No baked potatoes ???

Went at lunchtime. Not a big crowd, but staff seemed overwhelmed, and disgruntled. Meal was so so, but the cost was much higher than expected. Will give them one more try

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGH POINT, NC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Bit Letdown”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews drove 30 miles to try. Ordered specialty 14oz prime rib. Not at all like picture above. Sliced thin and looked like seared on grill top &looked more like 12 oz, maybe. Sauté mushrooms were stone cold and looked like just poured out of can. Hate to ever send plate back but these mushrooms had to go back. Salad and veg medley very nice. Feel as if got $25 meal that was about $10 overpriced. On the bright side others in party got salmon, burger & ribs which were fine. Ambiance & service very good. Food does not merit a return visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PHIL8888HighPoint_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cimarron Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cimarron Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing