We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Dining in Winston-Salem”
Review of Pintxos Pour House

Pintxos Pour House
Ranked #155 of 665 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Dining in Winston-Salem”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've been too this restaurant a few times & there are still many items that I'd like to try. This restaurant is a great addition to the Robinhood shopping area in Winston Salem. The food is well above what you would expect for area. The small plate sharable concept makes it a fun spot to dine. Service is excellent as well. The eclectic feel of the dining area makes the experience even better. I recommend the pizza's, sliders and lobster mac & cheese. It was too cold when I visited for the outdoor area, but can't wait to go back and enjoy the food & drinks outdoors!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This was a fun dining experience. We enjoyed trying different dishes. The food was good and we loved the chicken with waffles. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great new place in Winston”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I shared 4 of their small plates (5 with dessert.) They were all very good. The scallop BLT was my fave, the fried green tomato was my husband favorite. The place is small and was really busy on Friday night. The service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice change of pace”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant focuses on tapas as their highlighted food. We tried four different "pintxos" and all were amazing! Great presentation and even better flavor. They also have great drink specials during the week. Price is decent. Overall great change of pace from usual restaurants

Helpful?
Thank Fedora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good experience at a shiney new place”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Pintxos (which means "skewer" in Spanish, I am told) is a neat new eatery worth checking out. It's located in Robinhood Village, a new commercial development with small shops and store fronts (and a McDonald's) that is a bit off the beaten path and still finding its legs. Pintxos describes itself this way:

"We combined a Spanish style of dining, the traditional English gastropub pairing of food with beer, and the classic American sports bar to create a “Different Way to Dine.” We feature casually fun cuisine from regions across the U.S. and the world in small enough portions that you don’t have to choose just one."

Veteran Chef Chris Fulk (Christopher's) is at the helm and has Harrison Helms of Finnegan's Wake and King's Crab Shack as sous chef. It's tapas or "small plates" for the most part with personal pizzas, salads (Caesar with deep fried artichokes), small plates from $5-$11 with most mid-range and reasonable, sliders and tacos and other "shareables." Nice that the small plates usually have two servings. Couples don't have to elbow their way to that third scallop. Speaking of scallops, the scallop BLT -- scallop on brioche toast, baby spinach, smoked bacon, and lemon peppercorn aioli was excellent. Sweet tea chicken (nicely battered and moist) and waffles with maple gravy was a treat. Steak and eggs with carpaccio and smoked bacon is probably not a good choice for this menu because it needs to be eaten immediately and when served with other tapas can sit and lose both eye and taste appeal. A nice feature is a Chef's Combination Plate that allows the chef to pick four items of his choice that pair well. Especially good idea on a first visit.

Piintxos is new and fresh and has a its own concept and, very important, passion in the kitchen. It is reasonably priced. Has a neat bar. Summer, outside dining. This is all good. No way from one visit to vouch for the many assorted menu items. But my experience was good and Pintxos is a place you should try if you are curious and looking for new culinary experiences. Best enjoyed, first time around at least, with several people so you can explore the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cleggett336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pintxos Pour House also viewed

 

Been to Pintxos Pour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing