We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in an 1816 tavern.”

The Tavern in Old Salem
Ranked #3 of 664 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Built in 1816, the tavern has 5 intimate dining rooms and a small full service bar. Waitstaff dresses in historic costume during the day.Dine by candlelight in the evening.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in an 1816 tavern.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch when driving through Winston Salem. Old Salem is perfectly charming, especially with the dogwood trees in bloom. We were seated at a table with a pretty view to the garden/tree area behind the building. The waitress was fantastic and very knowledgeable about the beer and menu items. We both had sandwiches, a crawfish poboy, and a chicken salad croissant. They were both very tasty. The housecut fries were also very good. The food was served on small slates along with complimentary bread. We will be back to spend more time in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    196
    47
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch in a Historic atmosphere”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our lunch here! Be sure to call in advance for a reservation! There were people lined up for lunch when we arrived...good thing I called ahead! We were seated at a cute table in the back room overlooking the gardens. Our server was good, the menu has a great range of items to choose from with gluten free options as well! Prices are excellent and the atmosphere is fantastic. But please be kind to your fellow diners and turn your cell phones off!!! During our hour lunch we had to listen to four different ring tones...kinda kills the historic atmosphere and conversation. You will not be sorry for waiting in line to dine here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“An escape into the past with fun food to try”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Definitely a fun restaurant to try at least once, at least for lunch like we did. The costumed staff really adds to the atmosphere. We were seated upstairs which was very pleasant. The pumpkin muffins and bread brought to the table were excellent. We ordered the Chicken Pie and the Pot Roast as entrees. Both served with real mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. The Chicken Pie was really different and very good. The Pot Roast was really plain and lacking any flavor. Quite disappointing. The sides were delicious! For dessert we split the gingerbread with lemon ice cream. Rich and quite a taste sensation. We both agreed that one full serving each would have been too much and too rich. We were glad we split it. Excellent friendly staff made it quite enjoyable overall. No tour kids allowed in this restaurant which was a huge PLUS!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite NC Restaurant”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am NOT easy to please when dining out. I am not picky, but I am an excellent cook so if I am going to pay somebody to cook for me, the service, atmosphere, and food must all be excellent. I have dined here frequently for brunch, lunch, and dinner. Daytime costumed servers give way to modern attired servers for dinner. The ambiance is charming and austere, but can be noisy. The bathroom is cramped and on the second floor. I tolerate these undesirables because the food and service are excellent. The Tavern is a farm-to-table which is my favorite genre. Emphasis on local/regional carries over to the bar which serves consistently satisfying libations. For overall quality there is no better value in Winston-Salem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old? More than Welcome!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Personal recomendation: Bruch, just excellent. Food fantastic, drinks even better! If you're a beer lover, you'll be back, just ask for te special brew every week. Couples, friends, family, great atmosphere giving you that old/classy feeling thanks to the staff and tablewear. Comfort food to its max! Great portions and a taste...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mita05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern in Old Salem also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern in Old Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing