We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service in Authentic Historical Setting”

The Tavern in Old Salem
Ranked #3 of 660 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Built in 1816, the tavern has 5 intimate dining rooms and a small full service bar. Waitstaff dresses in historic costume during the day.Dine by candlelight in the evening.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service in Authentic Historical Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I visited The Tavern for lunch with a group. While not my first visit to Old Salem itself, this was my first time eating at The Tavern. All in all it was a wonderful experience. The staff was dressed in period costumes and were very friendly and attentive.

The food was wonderful. I ordered the Roasted Turkey, Brie and Fig on Ciabatta. I was a little worried about the fig, but it was sweet and very subtle. A perfect companion to the Brie. I had the sweet potato fries as a side and they were equally delicious. Another person in our party ordered the Carolina Barbeque Dip. He considers himself a bit of a BBQ expert and was worried if he'd like this one. He ended up giving it two thumbs up. He said it was delicious! Another person in our group ordered the Pot Roast sandwich. They said it was very tasty and it surely looked very substantial. All of the food looked appealing and were reasonably priced. There were no complaints in our group. There are free refills on the soft drinks.

After lunch, a few of the staff were pleased to pose for photos with some of our group. It made for a wonderful addition to a tour of the village!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justmaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    190
    46
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Awesome dining experience in Old Salem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We found The Tavern In Old Salem by chance while walking down Main Street. We stopped in for lunch. The food, service and historic setting made it a top notch dining experience. It was so good we went back the next night for dinner! The German Beer Soup and mini pumpkin muffins were delicious! We will definitely go back for more !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was treated to lunch today at The Tavern and it truly was a treat. The quaint historic setting was comfortable and intimate with a few tables in rooms throughout the house. The menu had enough variety to appeal to all tastes. The Angus meatloaf served over red skin mashed potatoes was delicious. Rich, warm gingerbread with lemon ice cream topped off a meal punctuated with very knowledgeable and attentive service. The owner checked on us during our meal and all staff shared smiles and were very friendly. Will definitely return!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delores E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Charming lunch place in Old Salem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a very popular place in the midst of Old Salem, so expect to wait for a table. There is a good variety of dishes on the menu and we chose one of the most popular ones -- Moravian Chicken Pie. We thought it would be a creamy pot-pie-type of entrée but it was a section of chicken "pie" that was rather dry. We had to ask for more of the gravy to finish it. It was served with very good mashed potatoes but we would have liked some vegetables as part of the entrée. The prices were reasonable and the service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal in a wonderful, historic setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with 5 friends and thoroughly enjoyed it! Small room with just a few tables which kept the noise level down, a problem I find in many large restaurants. Nice menu; not too large but certainly varied. Fresh ingredients with good sized portions. Our server was great! A nice balance of friendliness and professionalism who was very knowledgable and attentive. I will definitely be returning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeof3kgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern in Old Salem also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern in Old Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing