We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”

The Tavern in Old Salem
Ranked #2 of 661 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Built in 1816, the tavern has 5 intimate dining rooms and a small full service bar. Waitstaff dresses in historic costume during the day.Dine by candlelight in the evening.
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As part of the Old Salem experience, I recommend dining at The Tavern. You won't be sorry. Great atmosphere in 1700's decor with excellent food. (Love their bread). We were with a large group, but they accommodated us perfectly in a separate room. Service was reasonably fast and courteous. Recommend their pot pie -- outstanding!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    196
    47
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New mamagement and menu...”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Outstanding all around. 4 people had 7 dishes....everyone was very happy! A wonder candle-light dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattimichigan512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Owner at The Tavern in Old Salem, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello I am one of the owners of the Tavern In Old Salem and would like to thank you for such a nice review of our restaurant. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food in a historic atmosphere”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Tavern in Old Salem is in the middle of historic Old Salem and right across the street from the August Zevely House B&B where we stayed. The food was excellent and the service efficient and friendly. The menu includes a selection of well-prepared meats, poultry, and fish dishes. The wine and beer list is extensive and includes many reasonably priced beverages. Take the time to stroll the quiet streets of Old Salem after eating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

THIS PLACE IS A MUST! I was traveling for business and my Sister in Law ( SIL) recommended this place since she went to school there at Wake Forest. I was blown away not only by the staff and food but the serene view. The backyard wasn't open yet but the back porch and front porch were. I sat on the back porch by myself and felt like I was in another world which is nice after a crazy day spent at a busy hospital. It was a work night about 7pm and not too cool/warm. It did not feel like you were minutes from downtown. The food was light, flavorful, and delish. I got a glass of their house pinot grigio, an arugula salad, and the bleu cheese and grilled mushroom. Every bite was better and better. It wasn't too much food so I ended up splurging for dessert. Out of this world was the lemon ice cream with sugar coated pecans served with the maruvian spice caked. The cake was moist but not gooey and packed with flavor but not overpowering. I dined by myself but wish I could of shared it with my friends and family, This place is an absolute Gem. The staff was friendly courteous and knowledgeable. I am already planning on trying something else on the menu since my first meal was awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CranMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's convenient to have a restaurant at the museum so that you don't have to leave. It's even better when the food is amazing!! We were so glad that we waited! Definitely put your name in early enough!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjarr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern in Old Salem also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern in Old Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing