We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to the Hanes Mall area”

Carolina Ale House- Winston Salem
Ranked #53 of 665 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Hanes Mall area”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice "pub" look and feel. A lot of well positioned televisions along with good food, I had the fish and chips and my wife had the southern fried chicken. Both were good. The fish has a good taste and was properly cooked with a crispy batter. As an Ale house, Carolina Ale had a wide selection of beer as you would expect. Our server was fast and attentive. Never had to wait until my beer was gone before having a chance to order another. I will be back and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    39
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beer, Beer, Beer...TV aplenty and choice of in/out bar/restaurant seating”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is sports bar paradise, centered around a huge U-shaped bar with prompt and attentive staff. One could also seat in the pool table hangout higher chairs and tables, and in the more quite restaurant area which is mostly booths. there are also tables for outside seating that have access to some outdoors TVs. This place has more that 50 beers on tap and a good selection of local NC microbrews. If you get overwhelm by too much choice, you can ask for a sample or order a "flight".
They have a full bar for mixed drinks, and shoots and shooters. this is a fairly large place, located across the street from Hanes Mall and still w/in the Mall's parking space. So it is always crowded, any time any day.
The food is "bar food" with large portions not particularly great, but well priced for the amount you get. they make very good hamburgers cook to order, flat bread pizza (favorite of my toddler) and we always get the dry rub chicken wings, which are coated with a rub of spices and taste like they have been slowly smoking all day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lareduxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food - Sports Bar”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you like Sports Bars, this is the place! TVs everywhere, a spacious setting make this an appealing spot for a low key dinner. Had the BBQ chicken sandwich. Was very good. My wife had the pizza and said it was good. The service was friendly and timely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point
Level Contributor
870 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great sports bar /grill”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great sports bar/grill
70 plus drinks to choose from
New location for them outside Hanes Mall
Lots of seating
Lots of TV's
Great service
Very clean

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
379 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Best Sports Bar in town!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you like Sports Bars and Beer, this is the place! TVs everywhere, a spacious setting and a terrific selection of draft beers make this an appealing spot or a low key dinner. The only place I know that has Dogfish Head 90 minute IPA on draft, the baby back ribs were pretty good too. A quick read of the menu led me to believe that these were dry rubbed which I prefer but they came with Barbeque sauce anyway. To be fair that’s what the menu said, I just didn’t read it but I wish they had been free of the sweet sticky stuff. The service was friendly and only a little slow but with Atlanta pounding the Mets overhead it was not a problem. With tip we got out for $50.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Ale House- Winston Salem also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Ale House- Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing