We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good variety with wide range of prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Grille - CLOSED

Phoenix Grille
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good variety with wide range of prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had a tasty lunch at the Phoenix Grille. Food was very good though service was a bit slow. I had honey barbecue grilled chicken with a side of fruit that was very good and quite plentiful. My lunch mate had the porterhouse angus burger and said it was very good as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auggiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We actually bought a Groupon for Phoenix Grill. We went on a Saturday night and our server Dave was wonderful. I ordered the chefs special-pecan crusted chicken with orange/cranberry sauce on top of mashed pototoes. He had the grilled salamon & lemon pepper asparagus. All the food including the salad & bread was tantalizing. I will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King,NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food despite the restaurant rating of 90.0”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'm assuming the poor restaurant rating of 90.0 is the pending renovation of the whole facility. None the less, the food we had was delicious, the service attentive and the atmosphere quiet. We had the pimento cheese for an appetizer and prime rib and salmon with mashed potatoes for the entrees, also a side of fresh fruit. Our only complaint would be the bread which was very tough.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason W, Manager at Phoenix Grille, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Phoenix Grille. We noticed your comment about the 90% sanitation grade and just wanted to bring the situation to light. Phoenix Grille opened its doors in the Holiday Inn in August of 2013, replacing the former Madison Park Cafe that previously occupied the space. Since the owners of the Phoenix Grille took over the food and beverage at the hotel, the facility has undergone extensive cleaning and numerous updates to the kitchen and much of its equipment. The sanitation score that you see displayed in the restaurant is the last score the Madison Park Cafe received before its departure. We have made huge improvements over what was in place when the 90% sanitation score was earned, and look forward to our first visit from the Health Department in this location so that we can show the public the significant improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King
1 review
“Best of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We are so pleased with our service, meal and ambiance at the Phoenix Grille ! Best dessert I have had in some time. Shrimp and Grits was outstanding.Waitress was beautiful and on top of our needs. What a great find for the Northern side of Winston Salem! I hate the traffic going towards Hanes Mall Blvd, and now we do not need to even get close to it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great and Going to Be Greater Soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I bought a Groupon for the Phoenix Grille on a recent visit to Winston-Salem and it was money well spent. I had the salmon special and my wife had the rosemary chicken and both were cooked to perfection. The service was very good as well as friendly. The restaurant is currently inside a Holiday Day Inn which some may consider kind of a minus for fine dining but I understand from the waiter that Double Tree is taking over real soon. Double Tree is renovating the hotel as well as the Phoenix Grille to include outside patio dining. We look forward to eating at this restaurant and seeing the changes the next time we are in Winston-Salem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing