We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Olive Garden”
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than Olive Garden”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family and I were frequent Olive Garden customers until Macaroni Grill came to town many years ago. Unlike OG, I don't have to shout over the noise of other tables so my guests can hear me. I don't feel rushed by staff to leave my table once I'm finished with my meal. Meal prices might be a tad higher than OG, but the food is great and so is the service. The dining area also appears to be a lot cleaner than our local OG.

While I'm sure Macaroni Grill has its peak service times, I have never had to wait more than 15 minutes for a table and usually get seated right away. So, while others are waiting an hour in line at OG, I'm being served my entree.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCDoctorUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    13
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow service, poor salad, but good pasta”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was not busy during my visit for dinner, but it took 30 minutes for my meal to come out to the table. My Bibb and Blue salad was not good - no dressing, covered in fried onions and pickled onions. Other than the onions it had no flavor. The simple marinara over angel hair pasta was very good, but could not overcome the slow service and really bad salad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Eat alone”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great to walk in and get a table for a quick dinner when traveling. I like that you can earn skymiles dinning points.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmdtmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went with great expectations but left fairly disappointed. We had a fair amount of questions about menu options, but our waitress didn't have many answers. Some of the food was OK, but my grilled veggies were very cold. One of the dishes was supposed to have prosciutto, but we never found it. When we asked the waitress, she described what it should have been like and wanted to know if we wanted her to do something about it (if there's any question, it should simply be addressed). We waited a long time just to get water because the waitress said they were out of water bottles. She finally bought individual glasses of water and then had to carry the glasses back to the kitchen each time for refills. As I think back on my experience, it was mostly a poor waitress experience backed up by average food.

Helpful?
Thank Flash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Take out made simple”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Placed our order on line ,set up a pick-up time,did our shoping,picked up the food on our way home& enjoyed a well prepared meal at home with no clean up A win-win all the way

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing