We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand is almost Grand”

Grand 18-Winston-Salem
Attraction details
High Point
Level 6 Contributor
952 reviews
436 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“The Grand is almost Grand”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The rewards program needs to be improved takes to long to earn anything .

The theater is very nice ,modern and each theater has very large screens, good lay out of seats and seats are very comfortable .

Each time we have been here the theater as whole has been very clean.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The Grand has screwed over its Reel Rewards Members”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have been a member of the Reel Rewards Program since the Grand opened. Every time you purchased tickets, rewards accumulated toward free popcorn, drinks, etc. This proram helped take away the sting of purchasing their OVER-PRICED concessions. At our annual Christmas Day 2013 family movie, I was told at the ticket window that the Reel Rewards program had been discontinued, and if I wanted to join the new rewards program, it would cost me $10. I thought I misunderstood, but upon further investigation, it's true. You have to PAY to join their new program. Reel Rewards member were given no notice of the cancelation of their current program, and I had credit on my card toward concessions that the Grand would not honor so it was lost. Thanks, Grand, for screwing over your faithful customers. From now on, I'll be packing food and beverage like most everybody else if/when I visit your establishment. Note to fellow movie lovers: the nearby Carmike Theatre on Reynolda Road has cheaper priced tickets for both matinee and evenings. GIve them a try!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Vacationermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Stadium Seating"”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We love this theatre. The seating is the best around. High back and a slight recline makes this seating the most comfortable in town. This theatre is never crowded like the others in Winston Salem. The IMAX theatre (there is one here and The Hobbit is current playing) is a cool experience. Beware though, IMAX is louder than you are used to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WinstonSalemForReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love the grand theater in Winston-Salem. It is huge so you don't run into people as much. There are several screens so you shouldn't ever have to worry about sell-outs. The concession prices aren't too bad either. You would love the grand.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robinmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Modern Way To See the Latest Movies”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a sparkling theater! The name says it all. So many screens, so many options. The seats are comfortable and there's plenty of room so you don't feel squished in. There's been a few times the staff lagged behind on their cleaning but not too often. The lobby is huge and airy and clean. The IMAX is a real treat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand 18-Winston-Salem also viewed

 

Been to Grand 18-Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing