We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience”

Frank L. Horton Museum Center
Attraction details
Greenville, N.C.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

For those that love the history of furniture, china, silver, art, etc you will love this place. Our tour guide had a wealth of information that could not be tapped into even if we had stayed all day. Her enthusiasm for the subject was obvious. What a joy!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank marthawats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“unique opportunity.”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great museum of Southern decorative arts-furniture and furnishings. They also do a wonderful job with seminars related to their focus. They are highly professional but casual/comfortable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Rather specialized deep dive into an interesting time and place in history”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The guided tour brings you close to the furniture and artwork, without glass or other barriers, so you can really appreciate the detail and understand what you are seeing. The contrast between rich city folk and the decorative arts of the countryside over time was fascinating. My daughter and I enjoyed it, but we probably would not return for a while. This museum is for teens and up with an interest in history, culture, and artifacts, not for children.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice museum with a fantastic guided tour”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was part of our admission ticket to old Salem. You had to reserve a time to view items related to southern decorative arts. We had to lock everything up and we were told to not touch anything. We were led from room to room, each with a different theme and time period. There are really some amazing artifacts ( dating from the 17th century) and nothing was behind glass or ropes. While you couldn't touch, you could get as close as you wanted. It's a very interesting 45 minute tour. You are also with a small group, so you can easily ask questions and take your time looking at everything. I do not recommend this tour for children because they are going to be bored.

Helpful?
1 Thank peachstt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Unique antique funrniture”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We went to this museum because it was included in our tour of Old Salem. When you buy a ticket to tour Old Salem, the museum is included. Tour groups to the museum are limited in number giving you a more pleasant experience. The knowledgeable guide gave the background of the beautiful pieces of furniture and she could look up more specific information about any piece of interest. The rooms are set up as living areas which gives the experience of being in historical rooms.
On our tour there were two women who dealt in historical furniture, and they were quite impressed with the collection.

Helpful?
1 Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank L. Horton Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Frank L. Horton Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing