We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, fast internet, great coffee in downtown Winston Salem”
Review of Camino Bakery

Camino Bakery
Ranked #2 of 28 Dessert in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfy, fast internet, great coffee in downtown Winston Salem”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Camino Bakery became a beloved downtown hangout the moment it opened in 2011. There is no time limit on the tables, so people come in for a latte or hot cider, fresh bread, sandwiches, and decadent sweets and stay for hours to quietly work or surf the internet. At dinner time, they have a special that provides two glasses of wine, home baked bread and cheese. It's a delight. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank holdenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminobakery, Owner at Camino Bakery, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi! This is Jonathan Milner. My wife, Cary Clifford, and I own Camino. Thanks so much for your glowing review of Camino! We really appreciate your enthusiasm. We work really really hard to create delicious drinks, scrumptious food, and a lovely atmosphere and we are very glad you were delighted by your visit to Camino. We really appreciate your business and are so glad that you had a wonderful visit to Camino! Many thanks and we look forward to having you back in the bakery soon!!!!

Best,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    44
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery - amazing pumpkin cupcakes”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Literally the best cream cheese icing ever. Great priced wines by the glass, fantastic pastries, wifi - a nice change from the standard Starbucks environment. Outside seating as well. Ordered 5 dozen cupcakes - including vegan - and they received rave reviews. It is a 3-4 times weekly stop while here in Winston-Salem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTimes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminobakery, Owner at Camino Bakery, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks so very much for your glowing review. We lived in Houston while Cary (owner) was in college, and enjoyed the vibrant food culture, so we really appreciate your positive words. We work very hard in the front and back of the bakery to make everything de-lovely and we aim to make everyone's trip to Camino a wonderful treat, so we're especially glad you enjoy your weekly visits to Camino. Thanks again for your patronage!!!!

Jonathan (co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Oh my goodness!!! The coffees were wonderful and what terrific and yummy baked items! Please don't miss this place while you are staying in Winston-Salem.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerTime65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathews va
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful coffee with homemade syrups. Lots of homemade treats for breakfast. Open late, convenient to downtown hotels and very friendly staff

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betsykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great latte”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We went to Camino for a break in our touring day. We were not ready for lunch, so just had drinks. I am very particular about what I drink - not too bitter, not too sweet, and typically don't care for latte, especially on a hot day, BUT went out on a limb and tried the pumpkin latte. De-lish!

I only wish I had been in the mood for some baked goods. They all looked wonderful, and it would have been hard to choose. This would be a great place for a quick breakfast or lunch. When we're back in Winston, we'll definitely fit it in.

Helpful?
Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Bakery also viewed

 
 
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Camino Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing