We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real food from local suppliers”

Mary's Gourmet Diner
Ranked #22 of 659 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real food from local suppliers”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Had a business breakfast planned at Mary's for the first visit. Did some research and found that Mary's was "the place" for breakfast. The menu did not disappoint and it makes for interesting reading. The food is all from local suppliers and listed on the menu. There are many items for any dietary need. I opted to create an egg white omelet with mushrooms, onions, spinach, and provolone cheese with a side of gluten free grits. Being from the deep south I am a lover of grits from way back. Every thing was perfectly cooked and very flavorful. The grits were fabulous and almost put me in the time machine traveling back to my childhood.

The service was outstanding and the decor is also worthy of a note. One wall has creatures with the head of an endangered species on the body of a human and holding some sort of kitchen utensil.

This is a must stop place for fans of real food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    50
    20
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We ate here for brunch and the food was awesome, all organic and locally grown. The atmosphere is very relaxed and casual.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“One of the Best Breakfasts of My Life - Esp. if you are Gluten Free”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had a great breakfast on a Saturday morning. They don't open until 8am. At 745am -- no one around, deserted. Came back at about 8:15am and the place was jumping. No problem getting seated on a Saturday morning right at opening. The place is quirky-funky-artsy but in a very charming way. This is not a budget place, but if you spend some bucks, the meal is well worth the price.

Our group was looking for Gluten Free. Bingo: Buckwheat pancakes -- gigantic and very well prepared. Also tried Gravy substituting Gluten-Free Toast for the traditional Southern biscuit. Superb. Most GF bread is a disaster. This bread was locally sourced, fresh and delicious.

What's not to like about pancakes? And toast and gravy? Our server by the way was extremely efficient and courteous. We would have been happy to linger -- nice atmosphere -- but our Saturday plans called for action. This is a great gem. Also known as Breakfast of Course -- so the name is a bit confusing. The hype is dead on in my book. Really a special treat for us. And soy for the coffee too, if you are Dairy-Free.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Funky decor; good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Be prepared to wait on Sunday mornings. The doors open at 10 and there's generally a line. They try not to seat everyone at once. Stay patient, the line moves. The food is worth the wait. We've been a few times and haven't been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank JBLoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic brunch menu. Be prepared to make some hard choices. 100 word minimum for a review? Is this like a term paper? Damn I'm still short.

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Gourmet Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mary's Gourmet Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing