We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value budget lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Port Townsend
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value budget lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel owner appreciates quality, and the mattresses in this hotel are excellent quality! The rooms are very clean and well cared for. The value is exceptional. Highly recommend this place.
Location is close to shopping and not far from Wake Forest University.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your mattress so much and that our accommodations allowed for a restful stay. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    285
    161
    73
    53
See reviews for
300
146
103
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Friendly staff, nice but needs some cleaning upkeep. Carpet needing cleaning-main hallways smelled of smoke and even though we had a non smoking room-it too smelled musty and smoky- There were smoking rooms next to non smoking-not well thought out!. Went to CVS and bought air freshener which helped. Comfortable bedding. Breakfast of carbs-waffles, yogurt, cereal, muffins and bagels....nothing else hot!. Okay for the money.

Room Tip: keep air freshener, just in case!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide a review. The hotel offers two nonsmoking floors and a smoking floor. We also have a smoking policy in place. Every guest who checks in signs off on that policy. On occasion, there are instances beyond our control, where individuals violate the smoking policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stay here weekly for business and am more than happy with the service and staff. Anytime there is a issue the management takes care of it. They are one of the best hotels I have stayed at within the Wyndham brand. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and great for a good nights sleep. The hotel manager and sales director have been one of the best to work with in my travels so far.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Call Amy 336-659-1994 if you have any upcoming corporate or group needs in the Winston Salem area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at this location on Sept. 13th, 2013. Upon arrival desk staff standing in front of door smoking with another girl. Check-in uneventful but every time we came to the desk or outside the desk clerk was having a cigarette in front of door with this other girl. This girl sat at desk by entrance on computer, that is when she wasn't talking to desk girl or smoking! I felt it is unprofessional. Breakfast was a joke . We came down to eat breakfast at 7:30 am and they were completely out of waffle batter. No orange juice. No napkins. The man who was desk staff did all he could do to manage desk and breakfast. Was informed girl who was to take care of breakfast wouldn't be in till 8:00! Wow management has a lot to remedy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma2seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I apologize you didn't have the best stay and thank you for bringing these issues to us. We do have a smoking policy in place for our staff. We have made additional changes to that policy to prevent these issues from occurring again in the future. Unfortunately we can't control our guests other then to restrict smoking in the hotel to the 3rd floor.

I believe that on this day someone was running late during breakfast, and with only one person on staff items ran out. This is not the norm as breakfast is too be fully stocked during the hours it is served and to ensure that we have two people scheduled on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hanes Mall Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Address: 100 Capitol Lodging Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103-7111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winston Salem
#14 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#16 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn - Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Microtel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing