We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Maryville
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The online reviews I saw before bookin this hotel looked great. I wouldn't normally book a Microtel anyway, but Wyndham hotels are "usually" nice and again the reviews looked great. This hotel is a smoke pit!!! The rooms are truly micro, beds are horrible, and the price is outrageous for what u get! The pool is shared with another hotel and I think the people livingthat in the hotel were out there grilling out, smoking and being loud. My room didnt smell like smoke, but the elevator smelled like cheech and chong had camped out in it. Overall, just very disappointed that I chose thia hotel. Needless to say, I won't be coming back here or any Microtel for that matter!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay at Microtel Inn Hanes Mall. The hotel does offer a smoking floor and 2 nonsmoking floors. As I am sure you are aware individuals have different scents. We sanitize and air freshen our public space several times per day, to help regulate. The Microtel Inn brand was designed to be an economic alternative to traditional hotels. The rooms are smaller than a typical hotel room, however they are a fraction of the price. I would hope that you would give Microtel Inn a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    301
    176
    88
    75
See reviews for
340
158
113
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Young Harris, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had free nights through both Wyndham Rewards and Choice Privileges so decided to split them up for balance by using one night at the Microtel in Winston Salem and two at the Quality Inn University in early July. We found both locations to be top quality for budget type establishments. Both were clean with good beds, televisions, and breakfast provisions which are the three most important needs under our simple travel needs. I would not hesitate to stay at either place again, in fact we had stayed at the Quality Inn during prior trips to the city. The rating of Very Good should not be considered a detriment but rather leaving it open for that very special facility that might rate a bit better grade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It sounds like you have been able to experience several different properties in the Winston Salem area. I am not familiar with the Quality Inn University as it is on the other side of town, but am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time in the city. Winston Salem is a wonderful city known for its diversity of business and community. With a strong and unwavering commitment to the arts, excellence in healthcare research and technology, and opportunities for specialized and advanced education. Winston-Salem truly is the City of Arts and Innovation.

If you frequent the Winston Salem area please ask contact the sales department to discuss travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were in town for my friend's wedding, so we weren't looking for anything fancy. That said, this hotel was pretty clean, the sheets and mattress were comfortable, parking was extremely convenient, and the free breakfast was pretty good. At only $50/night, we couldn't really ask for more. The only downside for me (because I am asthmatic) was that the hotel allowed smoking in rooms on the same floors as non-smoking rooms, and the smell got into the hallway. Other than that, I have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonnAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 38 in Winston Salem
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 38 in Winston Salem
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Address: 100 Capitol Lodging Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103-7111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winston Salem
#14 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#16 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn - Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Microtel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing