We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent - no frills.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent - no frills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed in Microtel Inns before and while they are 'bare bones', they are usually always clean and dependable. Par for the course here. The location is a little funky off Hanes Mall Blvd, and parking can be hard to find as they share a parking lot with the Comfort Suites across the way.

My room was small, considering it had a King bed in it - felt a little like an overstuffed dorm room actually - but it was comfy nonetheless.

The only actual complaint I had was that the room was very musty smelling and stuffy when I arrived - the air conditioning worked but seemed to not be cooling efficiently. I had to turn it down to 65 degrees to get it to maintain a comfortable 70/71 degree temp. No worries though.

Would stay here again for sure. Close to the mall, restaurants, and a Starbucks, and a straight shot into downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Just to clarify at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Hanes Mall the rooms are either single queen or double queen rooms. There are no rooms that offer king beds. The rooms available are either smoking or nonsmoking. Thank you for sharing your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    257
    129
    61
    37
See reviews for
259
133
89
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garner
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a comfy stay. The hallways had the smell of sweaty shoes, but the rooms were okay. I only wished that the single rooms had a fridge and microwave and more of a breakfast selection. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Shelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We wish our single rooms had the mini refrigerator and microwave also, however it's against brand standards. Perhaps in the future that might change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family had a great time here. It was actually our first time at a Microtel property. This was our first stay because normally we stay Holiday Inns brand of hotels, but they have become quite expensive lately. The Microtel is not the Holiday Inn Express, but it is a great value at $60 less per night. The breakfast isn't as fancy, but you can make hot waffles, and the rooms are clean. The rooms are slightly dated with tube TVs and older decor, but the service is good and the hotel is a solid value for the money. You very likely will not find a better value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big Elephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have family in Winston-Salem and always stay at the Microtel. The only time we are in the room is to sleep, so all we need is a clean room and good bed. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and offer the very basic amendities. If you are looking for a five star resort, this isn't it, but if you want an affordable clean room, this will work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank cnwswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancleave
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant, we did not have any problems. The staff was very helpful and willing to please us. I would return to stay here again.
Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Joyce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#22 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Address: 100 Capitol Lodging Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27103-7111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winston Salem
#14 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#16 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn - Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Microtel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing