We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I gave this hotel 5 stars because you get what you pay for and for the price this hotel exceeded my expectations. Room was nice, clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable. Pool was clean. Complimentary breakfast very good! Kids loved the pancakes, I enjoyed the oatmeal and bacon. Husband had the yogurt and bagel. Brandon was Awesome! He kept the pool open an extra 30 mins so the kids could swim after a long drive. He was friendly and attentive while juggling 10 different things. I like the hussle in him. So many young adults just don't have his work ethic. Area is not the best but this place was perfect for stopping for a rest.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the HI Express for 2 nights. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel is. Lets be honest, this is not the Crown Plaza, but is a nice, clean hotel. Check in was smooth, my room was clean, plenty of towels, bed was very comfortable. There is a free hot breakfast with bacon, eggs, sausage, pancakes, sweet rolls, yogurt, fruit, juices, milk, coffee, etc that was good. Try to get an odd numbered room since the even numbered rooms face the highway. Noise can be a concern.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank swcrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I trusted the reviews on TripAdvisor and how they are wrong. I got I real late, had regards about this hotel but I didn't feel like looking for a new hotel. Very questionable neighborhood, plenty of strip clubs nearby so you figure it out. In addition, the hotel is very close to a busy highway. Make sure you can get a room away from the road noise.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Whammie787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Whammie787,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay, particularly with the location and challenges you had with the noise. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope for another chance to serve you here again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

What can I say but excellent hotel....My husband and I usually stay at the Wingate by Wyndham on Main St but they was booked,so we asked is there a Holiday Inn Express nearby and we was directed to this beautiful hotel...All we can say is O MY GOD what a most amazing time and experience we had at this hotel...Our room was very clean and comfortable...the entire hotel was immaculate..The breakfast was to die for..Whenever we come to visit our daughter we have found our home away from home...Will be there on May 16....OVERALL EXPERIENCE....TEN THUMBS UP:):):)

Room Tip: Rooms near the vending and ice machine are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylomoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Its always a pleasure to read reports like this. I have shared your wonderful comments with our team members to remind them that the hard work they do daily to uphold the commitment of what is expected of our brand is maintained. We look forward to your May 16th Visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Had to come down from WV unexpectedly during Easter weekend due to my dad being in the hospital. The front desk staff were nice and professional. The breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular but enough to feed myself and my kids. Our room was very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I had no issues with noise from traffic (room 110). I would stay again, but honestly hope I don't have to!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank bbdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

It is good to know that when our guests are in need of our services, that there are team members here to help them along their stay. Thank you for your kind words about our Team members and their efforts to help make your stay and enjoyable one. I will pass your feedback along to them.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were driving home from Myrtle beach SC to Buffalo, NY when we decided to stop a night in Winston-Salem to visit friends. We had used Holiday Inn points and said it was for two adults and our son. When we got to the hotel and they saw our son was an adult they upgraded us to a junior suite. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helped us find where we were going for dinner. After dinner all six of us came back to the hotel for coffee and talk and there was plenty of room for all. The morning breakfast was good and we even enjoyed the Jacuzzi. I would Definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front but the high way traffis was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Its great to hear that our recently renovated hotel met your satisfaction. In reading your experience, this is the kind of warm hospitality that our team members are expected to deliver. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team and we look forward to your future visit with us again.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Power... was out at home so we packed up the family and took refuge here.....now - cannot fault the Hotel for the chaos...lots of families were "camping out" as the whole town was out of power in spooty places. Rooms were hard to cpme by- BUT - SOME, not all, of the front desk staff really need to step up their game. #1 rule - no personal cell phones should be anywhere in site of costomers. I should not have to wait for ANYTHING while they are finishing up a personal call - EVER, EVER!!!!!
Waited for coffee refills - waited to have questions answered not good.
Heat is 'old school' and needs updating...for the price of this room needs updating.
Just not the experience I expected for the PRICE.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Outlanders,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
520 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Address: 2520 Peters Creek Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27127-5658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: $98 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Looking for that home away from home while travelling? Our Holiday Inn Express in Winston Salem, NC is just what you re looking for. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 40 at exit 192, or Business 40 exit 5-A (head south). We feature free high speed ethernet and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We have microwave and minifridges in most of our guest rooms. Enjoy our complimentary business and fitness centers to keep you up to date and in shape. In the area for business? We are located just minutes from the following Winston Salem companies: Krispy Kreme Headquarters, Wachovia and BB&T corporate headquarters in downtown Winston Salem. The Benton Convention Center, Wake Forrest University, Winston Salem State University, North Carolina School of the Arts, Department of Transportation, Salem College, Baptist Hospital , Forsyth Hospital and the VA Hospital in Winston Salem, NC. High Point Furniture Market is only about 30 miles from the hotel. In the area for leisure? We are located near the following leisure attractions: The Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum (LJVM), Old Salem tourist community, Tanglewood Park, Hanes Mall, Reynolda House, and Sciworks (just to name a few). In addition, we just finished a complete renovation of our property March 2013!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Holiday Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing