We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet and clean...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Had to come down from WV unexpectedly during Easter weekend due to my dad being in the hospital. The front desk staff were nice and professional. The breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular but enough to feed myself and my kids. Our room was very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I had no issues with noise from traffic (room 110). I would stay again, but honestly hope I don't have to!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bbdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
It is good to know that when our guests are in need of our services, that there are team members here to help them along their stay. Thank you for your kind words about our Team members and their efforts to help make your stay and enjoyable one. I will pass your feedback along to them.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    20
    9
    12
See reviews for
33
8
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were driving home from Myrtle beach SC to Buffalo, NY when we decided to stop a night in Winston-Salem to visit friends. We had used Holiday Inn points and said it was for two adults and our son. When we got to the hotel and they saw our son was an adult they upgraded us to a junior suite. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helped us find where we were going for dinner. After dinner all six of us came back to the hotel for coffee and talk and there was plenty of room for all. The morning breakfast was good and we even enjoyed the Jacuzzi. I would Definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front but the high way traffis was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Its great to hear that our recently renovated hotel met your satisfaction. In reading your experience, this is the kind of warm hospitality that our team members are expected to deliver. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team and we look forward to your future visit with us again.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem,NC
Level Contributor
323 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Power... was out at home so we packed up the family and took refuge here.....now - cannot fault the Hotel for the chaos...lots of families were "camping out" as the whole town was out of power in spooty places. Rooms were hard to cpme by- BUT - SOME, not all, of the front desk staff really need to step up their game. #1 rule - no personal cell phones should be anywhere in site of costomers. I should not have to wait for ANYTHING while they are finishing up a personal call - EVER, EVER!!!!!
Waited for coffee refills - waited to have questions answered not good.
Heat is 'old school' and needs updating...for the price of this room needs updating.
Just not the experience I expected for the PRICE.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Outlanders,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

A simple, easy hotel with a nice breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel is nothing special; it is merely a Holiday Inn Express, but the beds were comfortable and the location was good for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissJetSetter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment about our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were very impressed with the quality and responsiveness of the staff. The breakfast was hot and was very tasty. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. My family loved the area, and this was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Choose odd numbered room to be on the quiet side of the hotel, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theriggfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am always pleased to read Excellent reviews from our guests. I share this feedback with the team members to encourage and reinforce the impact of their service and hard work.

Thank you again,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed in this Holiday Inn Express multiple times. We keep coming back for a reason! The staff is wonderful and helpful. The public areas are always clean. The security is good. The rooms are large and well appointed. They also have one feature that you very rarely find! In these days of laptops and tablets and cell phones and many, many charger cords, in most hotels, you're lucky if you find 1 electrical outlet that you must use to plug everything you have into. Not so at this hotel....there are many, many outlets and they are all over the room. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is spacious. The complimentary breakfast is always a good way to start the day. Though small, the workout room is nicely equipped. The hotel is located centrally with easy access to the highway and anything else you'd like to do in the Winston Salem area!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side opposite the interstate because we've stayed in rooms on the intersta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My experience at this hotel was mostly positive. The room was clean, spacious, nicely maintained and accessorized, and the CC feature on the TV worked great. I have a hearing loss so if there was traffic noise outside, I didn't notice it. The breakfast was good with a nice variety of foods including, among other things, make-your-own waffles, a meat, biscuits and gravy. Two attendants were constantly on duty making sure that items were well stocked and the area kept clean.

My only complaint, and I really wasn't happy that night, was the geographically-challenged person at the desk--Kourtland. The directions on the website weren't very specific, and I called for directions from I-77 when I felt I was near the hotel. Kourtland had little idea where the hotel was located beyond the street address. He didn't know if it was east or west off of I-40 from I-77. Then he wanted to know my home address, and gave me some unusual sounding directions that resulted in my getting pretty lost. When I finally made it to the hotel, Kourtland even had trouble telling me the location of my room, then looked for a map that took longer than one might think. A nice enough guy, just geographically challenged.

I'd like to recommend this hotel with one caveat. Call for directions while it is still daylight and you are not traveling at 70 mph. And by all means, if Kourtland answers the phone, ask for someone else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I am glad to read that your overall experience, outside of directions was pleasant. That is what we strive for! I have shared your comments with the team members, especially the housekeepers and breakfast attendants with regards to their due diligence in their effort to maintain the standard! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem
Address: 2520 Peters Creek Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27127-5658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Looking for that home away from home while travelling? Our Holiday Inn Express in Winston Salem, NC is just what you re looking for. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 40 at exit 192, or Business 40 exit 5-A (head south). We feature free high speed ethernet and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We have microwave and minifridges in most of our guest rooms. Enjoy our complimentary business and fitness centers to keep you up to date and in shape. In the area for business? We are located just minutes from the following Winston Salem companies: Krispy Kreme Headquarters, Wachovia and BB&T corporate headquarters in downtown Winston Salem. The Benton Convention Center, Wake Forrest University, Winston Salem State University, North Carolina School of the Arts, Department of Transportation, Salem College, Baptist Hospital , Forsyth Hospital and the VA Hospital in Winston Salem, NC. High Point Furniture Market is only about 30 miles from the hotel. In the area for leisure? We are located near the following leisure attractions: The Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum (LJVM), Old Salem tourist community, Tanglewood Park, Hanes Mall, Reynolda House, and Sciworks (just to name a few). In addition, we just finished a complete renovation of our property March 2013!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Holiday Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing