We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gelato in Winston!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Prada - CLOSED

Caffe Prada
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating
NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Winston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Wonderful gelato! Awesome selection of flavors!

It's at the bottom of a condo building, so the drawback is finding parking. You only have street parking, but can find a place if you drive around the block to look for one.

Hubby and I had peanut butter cup & our daughter had snickerdoodle. They also have pastries, which were of enormous size. One pastry can easily be shared by 2 people.

If in the downtown area, definitely stop by & try some gelato!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yankee in the south
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Internet cafe done right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a stylish cafe that serves excellent beverages and has a very good selection of gelato. The interior design is attractive and contemporary. There are plenty of nooks in which to retreat with your laptop and also tables to enjoy with friends. The outdoor seating is also a plus.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Caffe Prada just got awarded best gelato for the fourth straight year so they must be doing something right. I've never commented on these sights before, but when I see reviews that say "I hated it", I sense that "1 review LJ0808" has an ulterior motive. Maybe the competition can't stand the heat. The gelato is made on-site and it's delicious. Creamy and smooth -- lots of different flavors to choose from. You can't possibly be disappointed. And the owners behind the counter are unique characters. So if you don't like them, THEN NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieWinstonSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not a very welcoming place but the gelato is good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've only been here a few times - a couple of times for gelato in the summer and a couple of times for latte in the winter. The gelato and the lattes were good. The outdoor seating (although very limited and on the street) is okay for the summer, but we've found the seating inside isn't very comfortable. It isn't a place that's made to linger and I guess that could be on purpose. We certainly didn't get good vibes from the owner - we always feel like we've interrupted him and he's only waiting on us because it's his business. Not warm and fuzzy, but I guess not every place has to be warm and fuzzy. The gelato and the latte is good. For us, though, we like feeling welcome. We would go back here if we were walking or biking past and wanted a gelato, but we wouldn't go out of our way to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem,NC
Level Contributor
323 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Gelato was great owner/staff was RUDE/NON_Social”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Paid a hefty sum for the gelato which was ok---gelato--not bad-not good---as expected for the price. Bunch of people hanging out so we took it outside to talk. Signs all over that the restrooms are for customers only.....there (reasonably so) may be a problem with street folks using it.....I came back in- dressed well mind you- and this owner says LOUDLY- HHEEELLLOOOOO!!!! I smiled and kept walking to the restroom. Again he bellows, HHHHEEEELLLLLOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I HELP YOU!!?? There were a bunch of customers he was 'helping' who by this time were all staring at HIM- I said, "You just did a minute ago....I now need the restroom......OK!!!!!!!!!!!?" From him a blank stare.
REALLY--- Get a bathroom key if there is such an issue - while you're at it get manners and decorum.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Prada also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing