We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jon E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for being a valued guest at our hotel. It appears we have exceed your expectations and that is awesome! This is one of my favorite Trip Advisers ever so Thank you!!! I will make sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. We hope that when you are visiting Winston Salem again in the future we will be your choice in hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 588 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent several nights in this hotel on a recent business trip To Winston Salem, and the hotel was
a newer one and everything was good. Air conditioning was noisy even when it wasn't running
there were mechanical noises emitting from the AC. Smoke alarm was directly over your head when you were in bed and it had a very annoying light shining down toward the bed very annoying when trying to get to sleep. Breakfast was the same as with all Hampton's with the same poor quality food served, biscuits were as hard as bricks, eggs rubberized, the sausage
was good along with the fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhollingsworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience. It appears we have fallen short of your expectations with our hotel in a few areas with the noisy AC, smoke alarm placement, and the quality of our breakfast items. Please contact me at your convenience to discuss these items and on how we can not only meet your expectations, but exceed them. Thank you for being a valued guest at our hotel, and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Summer Combs – General Manager – 336 377 3000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. There was plenty for us to choose from for breakfast. Located near restaurants and shopping and an easy drive to WFU or the downtown area. Plan to stay here again next year when we visit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience while visiting our hotel. We strive to provide clean rooms, friendly service and great accomodations each and every visit! We are excited to hear we will be your choice of hotels when visiting Winston Salem again. We look forward to the opportunity to continue to earn your business! Thank you for being a valued guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Location is convenient with lots of places to eat within walking distance. The staff were helpful and friendly. The lady who worked the breakfast area has a great personality and was very helpful to the younger guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for being a valued guest at our property! Our hotel is conveniently located near shopping and restaurants and we hope that you were able to take advantage of that while visiting. Our breakfast staff takes pride in providing not only great food, but service as well. I have shared your comments with the staff at our morning huddle! Thank you for giving us valuable feedback, and we hope when you visit our area in the future we will be your choice in hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My family and I were traveling on vacation and always book a room in the Winston-Salem Area right of route 52. We have stayed at another area hotel and security and service was horrible, so we looked elsewhere and decided to stay at this facility. From the time we entered and I expressed our safety concerns, which were addressed immediately, to the continental breakfast before leaving we had a safe and pleasant stop, with a restful night of sleep to continue our trip. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us and other travelers know about your experience at our hotel. We truly strive to provide great service, comfortable rooms and accommodations to each and every guest. We understand that when traveling it is a requirement to make sure you are staying at a place you feel secure and can trust! I am excited to hear this was the case at our property. I will pass along your kind remarks to the Front Desk and Breakfast Staff. We hope that when visiting this area in the future we will be your choice of hotels. We Love Having You Here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a very clean and modern hotel, unfortunately it only takes a couple of issues to ruin a good nights rest. For above average hotel with above average price ($ 129+ tax) you'd expect a less noisy ac unit that doesnt blow cold air right into your face even though you're sleeping on the opposite side of the room. I checked the settings on the unti- you can only turn it on and off and regulate the temperature on the thermostat, there is no option to decrease the air flow. But thats only half of the problem. Most frustrating thing was the blanket. The irony is, the last time we stayed at Hampton Inn in Georgia we had the same issue, they had the same type of horrible blanket that is basically filled with synthetic cotton balls that are scattered around and in some areas the blanket is 5" thick and in others its less than half an inch. Not only one part of your body is hot while another part is freezing, but the very concept of a synthetic filler in a blanket is a joke. I'd expect that from a Motel 6 but not from Hilton family. I sincerely wish that a person in charge of the purchasing decisions for this chain tried to sleep under this blanket a few times. Anyway, I ended up sleeping a total of about 4 hours and called front desk about 3 am to find if they had any other blankets, I was told they were all out of them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lixonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel when visiting the Winston Salem Area. From your review it appears we have fallen below your expectations in a few areas with the noisy ac unit and our duvet covers. I would personally like to speak with you regarding these issues. Please call me at your convenience at 336-377-3000. We truly strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to each and every guest. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and I hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times over the past year and have always had a great experience. The rooms are quiet and there is not highway noise. Rooms are clean and big. Bed are very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Request room on top (4th) floor - very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We truly value your continued business at our property. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest every time. We hope that when traveling back to the Winston-Salem Area we will be your choice in hotels. Thank you again for the continued opportunity to earn your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
223 reviews
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
515 reviews
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $119 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing