We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Nearby Hotels
$124
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Winston-Salem Marriott(Winston Salem)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookstown Inn(Winston Salem)
$150
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graylyn Estate(Winston Salem)
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$75
La Quinta
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
461
126
29
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
126
29
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwake forestgreat hoteluniversity areaindoor poolroom was cleanthe breakfast areafresh fruita great staydefinitely stay here againoatmealwould highly recommend this hotelmyrtle beachcomplimentary breakfastbusiness tripstaff was very friendly and helpfulcookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 629 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good hotel, clean, all parking up front, which is good for security. Wish I had brought my swim suit, small pool, but looked great. The front desk can give you a list of many restaurants. Most located within 5 to 10 min.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

On behalf of the management and staff, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience. We strive hard to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. It’s unfortunate that you did not get to enjoy our salt water pool during your visit. It really is a great way to relax and enjoy some down time. We hope that when traveling to Winston Salem in the future you will not only choose our hotel, but bring your suit for a dip in our pool! Thank you again for letting us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Driving all day since 3:00 am stopping for a room that will accommodate 2 adults and 5 kids is hard to say the least about 9:30 pm. most places wanted us to book two rooms for 7 of us. No way all our kids are from 2yrs old to 11. and why pay for two rooms. The staff here was very accommodating they let us have a king suite, with a pull out couch, that was all that was left, and instead of the $190 regular rate only charged us the double room rate of $119. Great room, Very clean, Huge room, comfy bed, and free buffet breakfast for 7 of us, all for $119. Cant beat it. Desk staff was great, and very helpful. The breakfast was good, but slow, they ran out of eggs and sausage and had to ckk more. But that was fine we were relaxed there. Hamptons have my vote.

Room Tip: King queen rooms, have a huge desk, to work off of, for business people.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay while visiting our hotel! Our staff really works hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. We hope that you and your children had plenty of room in one of our spacious suites. They really are great rooms for a large family. I will make sure to pass along your kind words during our next team huddle. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to earn y our business. We hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Loved this hotel. Very clean. Staff was great. Stayed in king suite which was reasonably priced, very spacious and appeared to be newly renovated. Room had complete business accomodations. Breakfast had great variety. Cannot say enough good about the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 327
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whattimestheflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We would like to thank you for being our guest while visiting the Winston Salem area. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, and we hope you were able to take advantage of our free “hot” breakfast! We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I LOVE that this Hotel has walk in showers and got rid of bathtubs that I suspect are always filled with germs. There is plenty of counter space, and the bathrooms are well lit. They also have a nightlight feature that turns on the light when you walk into the bathroom late at night.
The beds are comfortable, and the room feels very clean.
Downstairs, at the free breakfast, the common area is laid out well for conversations, as well as eating. They have the weather channel on so you can plan your day. And I fond everyone we came in contact with was friendly and interested to make sure our stay was comfortable. We checked in late both times that we stayed, and the M.O.D. Wanted to make sure we were well taken care of. This will be on our list for our future stays in Winston, Salem.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms should be spacious & comfortable. We stayed there twice in the span of 10 days, and each time the rooms were spacious & clean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel! All of our standard kings have the shower’s verses the bathtubs, and our guest love them! I’m glad you were able to experience our friendly staff, and I hope we you were able to take advantage of our lobby area as well. It’s a great place to watch the game or catch up with family and friends. We hope that we see you again when traveling to the Winston Salem area. I will make sure to pass along the kind words to our staff during our next team huddle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The suites are particularly spacious, the bed comfortable. The bath towels and washcloths are overdue for replacement. Breakfast was fair at best. The dried out prefab omelets were brown and curling up at the edges they were so dry. The previous day's scrambled eggs were not particularly appealing but better than the omelets. I suppose it's better than nothing although Sunday morning we left and found a restaurant for breakfast. After all, this is North Carolina where the locals make a GREAT breakfast. Why serve frozen, cheap stuff at the Inn?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hoya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for being a valued guest and choosing our hotel for your accommodations while visiting the Winston Salem area. On behalf of our staff, I would like to apologize our breakfast fell below your expectations. We work hard to provide not only great accommodations, but also great amenities. Hampton is currently looking at revamping our breakfast items, and our guest will start to see this change as early as December 2013. We will be offering items such as fresh cut fruit, and hard boiled eggs with the shells on them. We are also changing up our egg selection along with some of our meats. I hope that in 2014 you will give us another opportunity to earn your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews