We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could almost live here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I could almost live here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just spent one night on our way to the beach. From the moment Latryce checked us in to the time we left, it was very nice. I'm only sad we were there just one night. The room was spotless and roomy. I think the thing that caught my was the attention to detail. The black and white snapshots used everywhere are so unique!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to our area. Latryce is one of our Guest Service Agents and does an AMAZING job! We are very fortunate to have her part of our team. She truly enjoys the hotel industry and it shows. Carmen our Executive Housekeeper also does an amazing job and prides herself on making sure the hotel is spotless! We really hope that when traveling to and from the beach you will make us your hotel of choice. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    106
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
220
92
24
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel was about 5 miles from our home. Something came through our neighborhood and knocked trees and powerlines down, damaged some homes, and blocked some streets. Many families had similar stories. We were grateful that the hotel was clean and accommodating. Breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was conveniently located near restaurants, banks, gas stations, and mini-shopping mall next to Wal-Mart. It was also 5-7 miles from Wake Forest University.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience at our hotel. Unfortunately, I remember when the storm came through the area, and did damage to several homes and businesses in the area. We are glad you chose our hotel during your time of need, and I’m glad you enjoyed the staff and breakfast. We really strive to provide excellent service each and every time. We hope if you ever have a need in the future you will choose our hotel. Thank you again for being our guest, and letting us know how we are doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We always enjoy our stays at Hampton Inns. This one has all of the usual Hamptob perks. We had a quick check in with friendly desk staff. Our room was good size. There are multiple shopping plazas around hotel (within walking distance) as well as restaurants, car wash and bank right here. Good location right off of highway when traveling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic74NWOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at our hotel! We hope that you enjoyed the area along with our hotel! We strive to provide exceptional accommodations and exceptional service to each and every guest. Our hotel is very convenient to a lot of shopping and restaurants which is also a plus. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your experience, and we hope when you visit the area again we will be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is newer, clean and comfortable. The exercise room was very good. I don't need fancy and big and this room had just what I wanted as it was clean with updated equipment, large enough to move about, some free weights and a nice exercise floor (yea! no sweaty carpet). towels, water and headphones were plentiful. The only minor glitch during my stay was that my room wasn't cleaned until about 3 pm on my first day. However, the housekeeping staff apologized to me in person and explained that there had been a lot of check outs and they had fallen behind. I appreciated the information and it wasn't a big deal. hey, things happen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel when visiting the Winston Salem area. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest! Our property is fairly new, and we do have the new fitness center that the entire brand will be moving to. (No more carpet) in the future for Hamptons! This is our Jump Start Fitness initiative and is coming to Hamptons everywhere! We hope that you will visit our hotel again soon, and we look forward to the opportunity to earn your business! Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Everyone we knew that stayed here was very pleased with their stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Arville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It's great to hear that your wedding group was happy with the accommodations. We strive to go above and beyond for all our our guest whether it is leisure or business! Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Winston Salem and we hope you choose our hotel when visiting the area again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. If you are visiting Wake Forest University this hotel is a great location near the school. The breakfast was okay, but didn't have a lot to choose from. We arrived very late and they had our key available when we walked in the door. I would recommend this hotel if visiting the Winston-Salem area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolsFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the area. We strive to provide excellent service to each and every guest. I apologize we did not meet your expectations in the breakfast area. We are working to expand our menu to offer a little something for everyone. We hope that when visiting the area that you will give us another try! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property, and we look forward to having having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Hampton Inn is relatively new and had the most up-to-date amenities. I would highly advise using this hotel, which is close (within walking distance) to shopes and restaurants and a quick drive to Pilot Mountain and Winston-Salem propoer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel, and letting other travelers know about your experience. We are conveniently located next to shopping and restaurants, and I'm glad you took advantage of these items while visiting. We strive to provide up todate accommodations, a clean environment, and outstanding service! Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing