We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Nearby Hotels
$107
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookstown Inn(Winston Salem)
$119
$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$79
$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graylyn Estate(Winston Salem)
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel(Winston Salem)
$211
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveler rating
461
126
29
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
126
29
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwake forestgreat hoteluniversity areaindoor poolroom was cleanthe breakfast areafresh fruita great staydefinitely stay here againoatmealwould highly recommend this hotelmyrtle beachcomplimentary breakfastbusiness tripstaff was very friendly and helpfulcookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 630 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is rated #1 in the Winston Salem area, but on our recent visit we came to the conclusion it is living on past glories. The rooms are typical Hampton, which is fine, but our suite was "tired", with tatty fittings and slightly dirty looking. The suite had a fridge and microwave, but no cutlery or crockery, which seemed pretty pointless. The public areas like the elevators were also dirty. The staff were friendly as everyone says. Breakfast was good. The pool and fitness area were adequate. Overall, we expected more of such a well reviewed place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers and us know how we are doing. Although you may have experience great service and enjoyed our breakfast selection, it appears that we may have fallen short during your visit to our hotel. I would love to discuss your visit to the area and our property with you. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and provide the best possible experience for travelers. Please contact me at your convenience 336-377-3000. I look forward to speaking with you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Winston-Salem. From the moment we stepped foot in the door, we were greeted with warm hospitality. The front desk attendant granted our request for an upgrade to a suite with no reservations. Each time we walked throught the lobby to enter or leave the hotel, we received a warm greeting from the front desk attendant. We were given printed directions when we inquired if there was a mall nearby, and they directed us to a very nice mall in Winston-Salem! The breakfast attendant, Lee, was awesome! She was very friendly and accomodating to the guests as we had our breakfast. Our stay was excellent. The room was very clean and the bed was oh so comfortable!! I highly recommend this hotel, and if we are ever traveling through Winston-Salem, NC in the future, we will be sure to stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Winston-Salem!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! I’m glad you enjoyed your experience at our property. We pride ourselves on friendly service and clean accommodations. I always tell the staff when a guest can remember your name you made an impact on their stay. Leigh our breakfast attendant was able to do that with you! I will be sure to pass along your rave reviews about her service! She really does pride herself on making sure our guests enjoy their breakfast experience. Thank you for letting other travelers know about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was typical of Hampton Inns: clean, efficient, up to date decor, and excellent breakfast. Perfect for the weary business traveler on route between destinations in Davidson and Stokes counties. I would definitely use this facility again shoule the need arise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel when traveling through the area! We hope that you will visit us again soon. It is our goal to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest when visiting the Winston Salem. We hope that you will visit us again, and thank you for letting other travelers know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best Hampton Inns I've ever stayed in. Friendly and accommodating staff. All around clean. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. Great location. Surrounded by shopping centers and restaurants of every kind. Hampton Inns is fast becoming my go-to hotel chain.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers about your visit to our property! I understand that while visiting you enjoyed our Hot breakfast and friendly service! I love the Hampton brand as well, and find they are very consistent. Thank you for letting us know we did not disappoint! I will be sure to pass along the kind words to our staff! We hope to see you again when visiting the Winston Salem Area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just spent one night here while traveling through the area. The hotel's location was not that handy for our sightseeing, but the hotel amenities made up for the location. The staff were most pleasant to two weary travelers. The beds were comfy and the room was spotless In addition, the complimentary breakfast was wonderful. The coffee was the best we have had at a hotel chain, and there was an abundance of fresh fruit and many breakfast items. Definitely a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennesseeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for telling travelers about your experience at our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer. I'm also glad you took advantage of our breakfast. Our breakfast staff works diligently to provide great service and delicious food every day. I'll make sure to pass along the wonderful compliments to them. We hope that when visiting the area we will be your hotel of choice!

Thanks you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews