We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in town for nights on a business trip. This property is your typical Hampton Inn, is just starting to show some aging, and is close to everything. The front desk staff was business friendly, but didn't go out of the way to make you feel comfortable, and the breakfast was above average for a Hampton Inn. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellow05Wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience. We hope that you will visit us in the future. We strive hard to provide a friendly atmosphere and great service every time.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 606 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had a rough trip and was looking forward to a comfy bed. We checked in to our King room and I was shocked when we opened the door. The room was beautiful! Tastily decorated and very comfortable!! The room was divided by a desk where the tv could be watched from your bed or the couch on the other side of the room. The bed was so comfy and the linens and duvet are washed after every customer. The complimentary breakfast was also delicious. I would recommend staying here to anyone!! You won't be let down!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lflwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers about our property. It sounds like you were able to enjoy on of our Jr. Suites. These rooms are divided by a workspace and is perfect for leisure or business. I am the new General Manager at this property and also love the choice in decor. I'm also glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast. We work hard to provide a little something for everyone. We hope that you will visit our hotel again soon and we look forward to you visit again soon.

Thank you for staying and we look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I am hit or miss on getting into this hotel because depending on how far I get with sales calls, determines where I get to sleep for the evening. If you don't book in advance, you loose out on this great hotel. My favorite on the north side of downtown - the other hotels at this exit do not even come close to this hotel service and staff. Fairly new and modern design on the inside. Very inviting staff.

As another poster suggested, this hotel is not "IN" the University area, it's a few mile drive. Dining choices here are mostly limited to fast food.

Room Tip: Far enough off the highway that highway noise is not an issue - sits on a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I’m glad that you were able to enjoy your visit at our property while visiting the area. Our location is conveniently located to the highway, but far enough away that we do miss the noise which is a nice perk! We work hard to provide great service and accommodations to every guest during their visit to the area. I’m glad that you were able to see our hotel, and we hope that you will come to visit us soon!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. We only spent one night but would not hesitate to stay there again if in the area. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The breakfast had fine choices and everything was fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsrny2nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your stay when visiting Winston Salem, NC. We work very hard to providie excellent service to every guest during their visit to our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed the service we provided while visiting, and I'm glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and found a good variety and freshness. We hope that when visiting Winston Salem again you will choose our hotel!

Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you book this hotel expecting to be within walking, shouting or shooting distance of Wake Forest University, expect to be disappointed. This hotel is a good 3 miles from the Wake campus, making the phrase "University Area" one of least effective descriptions of a hotel I've ever experienced. You are actually going to be in a nondescript suburban shopping area surrounded by chain restaurants and big box retailers. The leafy campus environs are a good ten minutes away.

Which is all too bad, because it's a nice Hampton Inn, very well run and well maintained. I enjoyed the facility, the staff and the breakfast. What I didn't enjoy was thinking I might be somewhere near Wake Forest University when I wasn't. But if that's not an issue, this is a great hotel. The suite they put me in was one of the nicest I've stayed in in quite some time.

Room Tip: If you're on a high floor looking south, you can pretend not to see the Home Depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesuerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about our area. I apologize that we were not as close to the University as you would liked! I also understand that other than the location you enjoyed your experience at our property. It is our goal to provide great service and accommodations to every guest during every stay. We hope that when traveling to our area that you will visit us again.

Thank you for being a valued guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in a king room for two nights. All of the furnishings were clean and newer looking. I liked having a mini-fridge, microwave, and internet access in the room. The shower was spacious and had a very nice showerhead with good water pressure. The breakfast had good choices and the staff was helpful if something needed to be refilled. The front-desk staff was friendly and helpful when we arrived.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting our hotel and letting us know how we are doing! We strive to provide great service to every guest during every visit. I am also glad that you were able to take advantage of our mini-fridge and microwaves while visiting. It really makes it feel home away from home when you have everything that you need. Thank you for letting me know about the great service that the breakfast and front desk staff provided during your visit. I will make sure to pass this information along at our next team huddle. I feel it’s very important to share compliments and concerns to the staff. Thank you again for letting us know about your visit and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've stayed here a number of times now, and are always impressed with this hotel. The employees are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast, which is included in the price of the room, offers something for everyone. If you're in a rush, the front desk offers brown bag breakfasts to be picked up on the go. They offer free internet - and it's very easy to log into. The hotel does all it can to ensure a comfortable visit. Great job!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraManhasset_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for being a loyal guest at our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to tell fellow travelers about your experience at our property! It is our goal to provide excellent service and accommodations every time for every guest! I’m glad you were able to take advance of our breakfast and our breakfast on the run! We really do have something for everyone even if you’re in a rush. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future, and I hope to meet you personally one morning at breakfast! Thank you again for staying at our property and letting other travelers know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
542 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
237 reviews
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
670 reviews
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $99 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing