We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure they are to work with!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Last week, I held a two day seminar at Hampton Inn off of University Parkway in Winston-Salem. It was a delight! I met with them prior to the seminar and they had tables and chairs already set up. The company I was working for sent laptop computers just before the seminar, and the personnel at Hampton Inn made sure they were safely locked away.

Special thanks go to Glen Bennett, Chief Engineer, who singlehandedly helped me set up all the equipment. Also included at no extra charge was a ceiling-mounted projector, which he also set up for me. Kudos to Vicki Hiatt, Director of Sales, Roxanne Bradley, General Manager, and KeAundra Anderson, Front Desk Extraordinaire, for all their help in making the seminar a success. I highly recommend Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: Since I did not sleep there, sleep quality, etc., were not included in my ratings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Sherry M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your meeting experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites University. Thank you also for recognizing our wonderful staff. They always go above the expected services to be sure our meeting guests have the room set to perfection with all amenties in working order and on time. It was my pleasure to be able to speak with you during your event and I hope you will have the opportunity to return very soon!

All the best to you~

Vicki Hiatt
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 602 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I visited Winston-Salem in March of 2012 for a conference she was attending and decided to stay at this Hampton Inn based solely on its review here on TripAdvisor, and we couldn't have been happier! I've stayed in pricier hotels with swankier reputations, and I've never received better service and hospitality than I did at this hotel. There was always hot coffee available, no matter the hour; there were times when the staff had plates of cookies and sweet available for the guests in the commons area; and I was always greeted with a friendly smile from the housekeeping staff, desk clerks, dining area attendants - everyone! I can't recommend this place enough. If/when we return to NC, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Andy B,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. I have shared with all of the staff and we are so very happy that you enjoyed "our home". We expect you and your wife to return very soon so we can thank you in person for your time spent sending this review.

We train often and work very hard to make sure all of our guest have every item they need for a comfortable visit. It makes us smile to know we have succeeded!

Many thanks and safe travels until you return~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were greated by both the sales and front desk manager upon entering the hotel. Our rooms were already keyed and prepared for our arrival. Even though there were 4 other large groups in the hotel, they made sure to call each of our rooms to insure that each room had met our satisfaction.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Willie,

Thank you so much for adding your comments to our TripAdvisor page! You and your folks are are always a pleasure to have at the Hampton Inn & Suites University! We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Vicki Hiatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Normally stay at the Hampton Inn by Hanes Mall. When they were booked recently went to this one. This is one of the best Hampton Inns. It is a few blocks away from the traffic noise so you sure to find a quiet room. The new Hampton Inns are my preference. Hanes Mall one is good but it is an older property.

Room Tip: Any are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmdtmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

rmdtmd,

We are so happy that you found the Hampton Inn & Suites University! It is a great location near shopping and dining but not with the high traffic that you can sometimes encounter in the Hanes Mall area. Thank you taking time to let us know about your experience! We look forward to being of service on your next visit to Winston-Salem!

Safe travels until then~

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel property was perfectly fine, and the room was the nicest Hampton Inn room I have stayed in. I am sure the hotel is fairly new. I stayed here for business and the meeting was held in one of the conference rooms. AV needs were met beyond expectations. Breakfast was on par for Hampton Inn, but the eating area was mush nicer than most. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely choose this property again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Kris_F1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review of the Hampton Inn & Suites University! I was our pleasure to serve you during your visit and meeting. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Safe travels until then ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms here were extrememly nice and clean, but we had housekeeping issues throughout our stay. They don't replace the toiletries every day and on one occasion, they didn't replenish the toilet tissue. When we called the front desk about the toilet tissue, they told us to come and pick it up at the front desk. On a positive note, the breakfast is very good (and free!) and our kids loved the indoor pool. Also, the location is perfect--it's accessible to so many stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel4fun3319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

travel4fun3319 ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Hampton Inn & Suites University. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been forwarded to our executive housekeeper for follow-up. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and the indoor salt water pool.

We look forward to having you return so that we can show you real Hampton Hospitality~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very friendly and knowledgable staff
Beds extremely comfortable and clean room temperature cool and good for sleeping
Excellent free breakfast with make yor own waffles, fresh fruit, variety of cereals and breakfast pastries, coffee and teas.
Pool is small but a very nice deck adjoins it and is surrounded by a pretty meadow

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snosrapsiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Snosrapsiri,

Thank you for selecting the Hampton Inn & Suites University as your preferred hotel during your visit to Winston-Salem. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope you will return soon.

Safe travels ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
537 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
598 reviews
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing