We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Travelers Inn(Winston Salem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn University(Winston Salem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Winston Salem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Coliseum(Winston Salem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
461
126
29
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
126
29
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwake forestgreat hoteluniversity areaindoor poolroom was cleanthe breakfast areafresh fruita great staydefinitely stay here againoatmealwould highly recommend this hotelmyrtle beachcomplimentary breakfastbusiness tripstaff was very friendly and helpfulcookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 629 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our room was very clean and comfy. The staff are very friendly and welcoming--more than at any place on this trip. Nice breakfast area, good place to hang out if your family needs a little space. Cookies, coffee, tea, hot cocoa always available in the lobby. Good location. And a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chckzkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear CLHBCG,

Thank you selecting the Hampton Inn & Suites University as your hotel choice for your visit to Winston-Salem. We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We have a terrific staff that enjoys being of service to our guests. It gives us great joy to be recognized for our efforts. We hope to be your first choice when returning to our area!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Easy to get to. Lots of choices in restaurants nearby. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, decent breakfast buffet. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

cirogers,


Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Hampton Inn & Suites University! Our team takes great pride if providing the cleanest and most comfortable accommodations in Winston-Salem. We look forward to your return! Please stop by my office so I may thank you in person.

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Room cleanliness is my highest priority, and I give this Hampton Inn 5 stars for that. The beds were comfortable but the air conditioning was rather loud when it came on, and a few extremely noisy teenagers in the hallways at 2 in the morning made for a restless night's sleep. The breakfast was typical Hampton fare (good for a hotel breakfast buffet) and the breakfast attendant was very nice and kept the food and dining area clean and neat. The hallways and lobby could have used a good vacuuming, but as I said, the room itself was pretty spotless. Location was good -- lots of amenities close by. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apisparva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

apisparva,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Hampton Inn & Suites University. It was our pleasure to host your visit to Winston-Salem and we look forward to your return. On your next visit, please be sure to alert the staff of anything that gives you concern so we may make adjustments during your visit, such as attending to the air conditioner.

We wish you safe travels until your return~

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The facilities are spotless, rooms well-appointed and beds and pillows very comfortable. Staff are all friendly and ready to assist as needed. Breakfast is excellent and ready ahead of the scheduled time. Fresh coffee always available, fresh-baked cookies were set out on weekend afternoons. The heating/cooling units in the rooms are controlled by wall thermostats and function well. We were completely satisfied during our 3-night stay at this easy-to-find facility, and enjoyed every feature of our 4th-floor quiet room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancychuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Ross M,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It gives us great pleasure to know that our efforts to offer great service, a clean and comfortable guestroom and friendly staff have been recognized. We do have a great location to Wake Forest University, many area businesses and area attactions with easy access off I-52 and University Parkway.

We look forward to your next visit!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This Hampton is pretty new and in a convenient location near US52, WFU and downtown W-S. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are fresh and clean. When the hotel is full, parking can be a problem as the lot is not big enough to handle everyone.

If you're a Hilton Honors member, this property runs specials from time to time. I've stayed here over two weekends since Summer 2011 and have only spent 12,500 pts/night, much less than the usual 25,000+ pts required by most other Hilton properties.

You won't be disappointed with this Hampton. Give them a try.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

RossM394,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn & Suites University! We appreciate the feedback from our guests.

It gives us great pleasure to know you are a Hilton Honors returning guest and that you have been satisfied with our services and amenities. Please stop my office on your next visit to say hello! We are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews