We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Stop”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here on our way back from Charleston after taking our daughter to College. It's almost brand new and lovely. Great decor, nice room, comfortable bed and excellent quality linens. The complimentary breakfast was great and they even provided to go breakfast bags for those who couldn't stay and eat.
Unfortunately we had some noisy, poorly behaved guests next to us. Our room was changed immediately with no problems at all. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBicep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
MrsBicep,

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment on the Hampton Inn & Suites University! Comments such as your let us know we are doing our job well and giving the very best care to our guests. We hope you will return on your next visit to see your daughter. Be sure to stop by my office and say hello.

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    109
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
224
93
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here one night while dropping off my daughter at Wake Forest. I have stayed in many of the area hotels in the past 7 years This is definitely one of the better ones and a good value for the money. The room and bathroom were very clean and well-appointed, there was nothing I would have needed that wasn't provided in the room. Despite the hotel being full, my room was very quiet. The included breakfast was adequate. All in all, I was very satisfied with my stay and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lch8497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
ICH8497,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful comments about the Hampton Inn & Suites University! It was our pleasure to be your host while dropping off your daughter at school. We hope to be your first choice when returning to visit and for the special day at graduation. Wishing you safe travels!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

heard such great reviews, got a pkg online for $145 with taxes ours included $25 in gas and a poppa johns $10 ish pizza. Reciept. said $14. they knew nothing at checkin of the pkg only had 3 ever they said. Got it soon after check in a desk clerk had to go for both. If we had a pizza coupon we could of ordered more and made it our dinner we were still hungry. Bkfst room is made wrong, nowhere to sit for a family curved chairs. fancey i guess? Busy with the wedding people, at chekin. the exercise room was not working 100%. some tvs work. Told a new nice young man , he wanted to call a manager at home i told him no thats ok. Place is clean and quiet. New young man was very friendly. He was trying hard.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpinj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
jpinj2,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment about the Hampton Inn & Suites University. I am very dissappointed that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. I hope that you had the opportunnity to share with the front desk the equipments repairs we need to attend to in the fitness room. You were one of the first guests to participate in our new "Almost There" package. It is obvious that the hotel needs to be more pro-active in supplying all the segments of the package. Through your comments, this situation has been brought to the attention of management and training for all staff has been completed. Withour your comment, we may not have been aware so again we thank you. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again~

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my family the night before our visit to Wake Forest University. This place is sparkling clean, and the staff is great. In fact the desk staff recommended a few places to eat that were within walking distance of the property.Free breakfast is very good. Hotel is about 10 minutes from Wake Forest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackstone_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Blackstone_Dan,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! It is warming to know we are doing our very best to welcome and care for our guests. We hope that the Hampton Inn & Suites University will be your first choice for future visits to Wake Forest and the Winston Salem area. We wish you safe travels and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Nice place to stay, Load A/C fan noise on top floor.

It was hard to get to sleep in the room because of a low frequency hum that woiuld turn on and off.

The rest of the hotel was fine, nice and clean, new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samthetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
samthetravelguy,

Thank you for posting your wonderful comments about your visit at the Hampton Inn & Suites University. I regret that you did not get a good night's sleep due to the fan noise. Did you have the opportunity to ask the front desk to move you? Thanks to your comment the situation has been addressed and corrected. We hope you will return in the future and allow us to select a quiet room for your stay.

We wish you safe travels~

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We hosted wedding accommodations at this hotel. We were all treated with 100% courtesy and found the facility to be excellent in every way. The staff went the extra mile to make sure that our wedding needs were all met. The convenience to Wake Forest University was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contentedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
contentedmom,

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment on your wedding stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites University. It was our pleasure to assist you and your guests. We wish the bride and groom a very happy life together and that all of you will return to Winston Salem for an anniversary celebration and select our hotel.

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The staff was super friendly. I would like to thank John (who I did not know was the GM until later), Micheal, and anohter gentleman that was with Micheal on the vening shift. I work in customer service and they do it up big at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lshay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhiatt, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Ishay09,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize several of our staff at the Hampton Inn & Suites University! I gives us great pleasure to know we have met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to be your first choice for accommodations anytime you are in the Winston Salem area.

Sincerely,

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing