We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilly Night”
Review of Mozelle's

Mozelle's
Reserve with OpenTable
Mozelle's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 661 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brookstown Avenue
Description: Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events.
Walkersville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chilly Night”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We (party of 6) wanted to try a different restaurant and based on reviews selected Mozelle's downtown. The restaurant is on the small size with seating for about 20 near the open kitchen. A side patio (normally open in the summer), holding another 20, has been enclosed and is heated by space heaters. Those seated near the flexible plastic wall were chilled and had to use the blankets provided for warmth. Appetizers of Pimento Cheese and spring rolls were good. Selections included scallops; 2 fried chicken; egg plant parm; potato soup with a goat cheese salad and a meat loaf. The scallops, chicken and egg plant were all well received, especially the scallops The goat cheese salad was lacking in cheese and the meat loaf was not very hot. The sides were all excellent, especially the green beans and mac and cheese. They have only a beer and wine license. Service was prompt and attentive but not interfering with conversations. Will try it again in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ORBPSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    90
    28
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Flavorful!"”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

They are known for their tomato pie among other things. It did not disappoint. It was very good even though it was December. Not sure where they got tomatoes that good. My friends were happy with their selections as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for an early afternoon dinner after spending the day in Old Salem. Food and service were first rate. Good beer selection. Very interesting menu. Had Fried Pickles and Pimento Cheese for appetizers. I have the Shrimp and Grits for dinner. Others had the Orechiette, Lobster Sloppy Joe's and Scallops. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in tonight for a quick dinner while I was in town to pick up my son from WFU. I had read many reviews in this restaurant and was very happy we went here! We did not have a reservation and we were lucky to get a table even though it was a Thursday night. We started with the Brie and guava, which was very nice and appropriately sized for an appetizer. I had the scallops with squash risotto and asparagus - I loved every bite of the scallops and risotto but the asparagus was a little too soft for my liking. My son had the filet & potatoes and was very satisfied! Wine list is small but there is probably something for everyone's tastes. Will definitely eat here again when we make the next trip to Winston Salem!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Creative menu, great food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Located in the old downtown area of the city, this restaurant has very limited seating, they do offeroutdoor seating on the sidewalk, coplete with blankets on cold nights. The lobster sloppy joe served on King Hawaiian roll is unique. Service excellent, seating not the most comfortable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozelle's also viewed

 

Been to Mozelle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing