We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee excellent, bad experience”
Review of Cafe Roche Coffee House - CLOSED

Cafe Roche Coffee House
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Coffee excellent, bad experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If people are calling this the best coffee shop in Winston, I don't think they've been to many coffee shops. The service was OK and my espresso was quite good, but they served my drink in a to-go cup even though I said I wanted to sit down and stay a bit. Good espresso doesn't taste the same in a paper cup. The shop was out of napkins and sugar. I can't even wrap my head around that. There was lots of dog hair on the ground. I love dog-friendly establishments, but maybe sweep up a bit? Plus side is that prices were reasonable and there is parking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler8005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Espresso in WS”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have been here before and was not disappointed. Small little cafe in a residential area and they do a good job with the espresso. I am very picky and used to very good espresso so i was not disappointed. Baristas technique probably could use some work (almost no tamp pressure) but the shots she pulled were good (not great, but good - better than Krankes).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlenW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Delicious coffee, fresh pastries and Wi-fI availability. The owner is actually behind the counter. Gotta love that.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank marge1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Good coffee but owners leave a bitter taste in my mouth.”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Inconsistent, inconsiderate owners brew a good cup but this is no way to start your morning. Corporate coffee never looked so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dosgardeniasws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Good coffee-bad vibes”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

While the coffee was delicious, the owners seem to feel that they are superior to us lowly southerners and after trying the place several times, I will not go back. I am a friendly, kind person and at the least expect to be treated with a little respect-especially when spending my money with someone.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Roche Coffee House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing