We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, as expected”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This was a very nice hotel of its kind, no unpleasant surprises at all. Unfortunately, I'm writing this review a couple of months after my actual stay, so the details are fuzzy, but it was all fine. Two people, my wife and me.

The breakfast was ok, not stellar. I will say that we were in the hotel for a wedding, and there was another wedding group also staying there, and I think a girl's sports team of some kind, so breakfast tended to be kind of crowded, but it was ok.

I do recall that the room (suite, right?) is broken into two areas that are actually independently usable, i.e. you could go into the other room and sit on the sofa while someone else was sleeping in the main bedroom area. That's a nice feature. I don't remember if they had a second tv in the sitting area. Our room was on the side of the building not facing the main road, so we had a nice view of a treed area, very pleasant.

We didn't use the pool, so I have no opinion about that.

We didn't interact with the staff much (which is how I prefer my hotel stays, frankly), but they were pretty helpful at certain points...in particular, they were helpful when we asked for directions to various places in town, and they cheerfully made some copies for me of some written out directions to a particular place.

This hotel is in the Hanes Mall area, to the west of downtown Winston-Salem. There's a lot of shopping centers etc. We drove around for a couple of days and I don't think I ever saw the Mall itself, but you know it's in there somewhere. This hotel is across a major road (Hanes Mall Blvd.) from the shopping center with the Target in it. It's up the hill behind some other things, including a Hooters. There's a 5 guys and I think a Panera within easy walking distance, some other restaurants a little further but we still walked to them, and you don't have to cross the big road to get to them. And the Hooters. Anyway, you don't need to starve.

As far a location and getting around: there's a lot of shopping centers, and you can easily get bogged down in traffic, so it really helps to have a good map. A particular warning: we drove in from the north (US52 from Virginia), and our GPS put us onto Stratford Rd./US421 much much earlier than was really necessary, and it goes right by the Mall (apparently) and is pretty much stop and go on Saturdays and probably at other times too. I would recommend looking at a map or Googlemaps or something, and picking a route that keeps you on the freeways as long as possible. You get get on Stratford Rd. directly from I-40 in both directions, and there are other routes too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zipt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    68
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
78
17
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here for five nights while in NC for the Highpoint furniture show. It was a good choice with good, attentive staff. The breakfast was more than adequate, not five star, but that was not expected either. The room layout was well designed, everything very clean and fresh. No bathtub in the room (a large shower), which we would perhaps have used, and no hot-tub by the pool. If I were to make any improvement that would be my suggestion.
Overall, excellent for our needs. Will definitely consider again for a future visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavinghomeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1000 Islands, NY
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Springhill Suites while attending the High Point Furniture Market. My wife loved the 1960's inspired interior design and we found the hotel a relaxing place after a long day at the trade show.

The Hanes Mall neighborhood is a great location for business travelers, just off the Interstate, about 15 minutes from the airport. It offers good shopping and a nice selection of upscale, independent restaurants. (We particularly enjoyed Bleu)

The property was completely booked and handled the full house with grace, from the front desk to housekeeping to the breakfast service. The business center with a computer, printer, phone and comfortable chair proved a god-send in handling a messed up airline reservation.

It met all that standards for cleanliness we'd expect from a Marriott property. Personally, I liked the location a bit away from the interstate without spotlights illuminating the facade and glaring into the room. Finally - the price was great considering the demand for rooms during Market Week.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A little hard to locate but well worth it. They need more signage! Separate sitting area in room, best TV ever in a hotel - large flatscreen with great picture. Beds and linens very good. No tub but large shower. Hot breakfast and FRESH fruit salad. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagdky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Very nice place to stay. Very clean...hellpful and friendly staff...great breakfast.
Close to shopping and restaurant and just off the interstate.
Just wish they had beds available larger than a double.

Room Tip: Call ahead to secure a room with a bed larger than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GmaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I love Spring HIll Suites, We stay in them all the time. Clean is our biggest requirement and this one stood up to our expectations. Wonderful Friendly service and GREAT breakfast! Nice clean small indoor pool. Overall it was a fine place to stay.

Only complaint was that the rooms were not up to standard of other Springhill Suites we have stayed at. This hotel seemed small. Too much wasted space in room to have only double beds. Queen size is a must for us but we knew what we had reserved. Bathroom was like any other hotel. No WOW there and lastly, it seems there was not much soundproofing in this hotel. I heard those above and noise in the next room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecastelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My family stayed at Springhill Suites near Hanes mall in August. We wanted to stay somewhere close to Hanging rock SP. This Springhill offered reasonable rates, clean accomodations, breakfast and a great location. It's only 40 min from Hanging Rock and right down the street from shopping and dining which was nice after hiking all day!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ajnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Property: SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Address: 1015 Marriot Crossing Way, Winston Salem, NC 27103-5545 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winston Salem
#10 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#11 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#15 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing