We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Winston–Salem Treasure Hunt:When Winston Met Salem!
2

Book in advance
from
$12.31
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Old Salem Museums & Gardens
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveler rating
823
349
83
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
823
349
83
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old salem winkler bakery bread cookies moravian sugar cake visitor center the main street museum of early southern decorative arts moravian church cakes god's acre village visitors homes history christmas stroll
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2019

There is actually a museum in Old Salem that has old Moravian furniture, pottery, and needle work. Housed also at the museum is a display of furniture made in the south along with a room full of different pottery from early US. All three combined make the museum a must. Rest of village is similar to Williamsburg, but on a smaller scale. The village is very nice to walk through - we didn't get to visit all of the "hidden town" points, but was able to visit the tavern and the pottery shop. We plan to take the family back on another trip down south.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank RLS238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our day. They had a interactive tour game for kids called the Salem Sleuth where the kids collected stamps after answering questions at different stops. They loved it. Learning the history and looking at the buildings was very interesting. Just wear comfortable shoes and bring snacks.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank barva2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

Delightful little area, able to be accessed from the bus station, by car, or a good walk. Some buildings are privately owned, some are accessible free as shops etc, whilst for a fee, you can access other buildings. The latter were particularly interesting with craftsmen & women in situ, & very happy to talk to you about their craft. We particularly enjoyed the Museum, the Gunsmith and the Bakery. We had a wonderful lunch at the Tavern, with the best pumpkin muffins I’ve ever tasted. My only regret is that we ran out of time. This is a definite ‘must-see’ in Winston Salem.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

We found the museum a really interesting insight into the early Moravian settlers. The guides dressed in authentic costumes, of the era added to the experience and gave interesting facts and were on hand to answer questions.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 697robt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

Lovely gardens, gift shops, trails, museum, history and gift shops. An amazing experience. Don’t miss the bakery!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews