We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Winston–Salem Treasure Hunt:When Winston Met Salem!
2

Book in advance
from
$12.31
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Old Salem Museums & Gardens
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveler rating
823
349
83
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
823
349
83
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old salem winkler bakery bread cookies moravian sugar cake visitor center the main street museum of early southern decorative arts moravian church cakes god's acre village visitors homes history christmas stroll
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

I attended my best friend's daughter's wedding reception at the Old Salem Musem. It was the perfect venue for this event. The building was well suited for lighting, space and the atmosphere was impeccable for the guest, who had arrived from all parts of the US. I enjoyed walking around the Museum to reflect on the past and the gift shop inexpensive that it allowed me to purchase gifts for my family and friends. If you have time, this attraction is well worth visiting.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Due to our schedule we had to visit on a Sunday, which is probably not the best day to visit. Sunday has shorter hours and fewer buildings open. We were waiting outside the visitor center, not realizing Old Salem is an active village. You can drive/park in the village or park at the visitor center and walk over the pedestrian bridge, without regard to the museum hours. Maybe enjoy lunch at the historic tavern. We enjoy historical buildings, and the village is very nice and well maintained. You do need tickets to tour the buildings, which are staffed with knowledgeable costumed staffers. A very nice visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

I give it a 5 because I love early American history but almost anyone should find Old Salem interesting. It's a beautiful area with plenty of places to visit and learn from costumed employees. It's too bad that photos can be spoiled by cars because it would otherwise be like stepping back in time - a nice way to spend a day in any case.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank charcoll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

I grew up in Winston-Salem and as a child, we went to Old Salem every year on school trips. Going back now 45 years later, it still has the wow factor and charm that it did back then. It takes you back to a quiet, peaceful time. It is a nice walk through the streets or you can drive through and enjoy it. It's a great educational experience for kids to see how things were over a century ago.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Interesting history, informative guides in each house and active crafts taking place such as pottery and sampler making. Pity that the old world atmosphere and photo opportunities were completely spoiled by large cars streaming through and parked in front of all the houses, otherwise would feel like step back in time. As for food, the Bakery is disappointing, cakes boxed into modern plastic boxes, nothing special, no savouries, utilitarian cardboard cups, not even any milk available for tea, much better to go to the Flour Box, nice sandwiches and cakes, proper tea in proper china cups, european style, closed at 3.30pm on Sunday though. In fact check opening times for your visit they are not uniform. Sidewalks are very uneven so watch young and old. Visitor centre, clean and modern, staff super helpful, use nice restrooms here before walking over bridge.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Josie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews