We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating history tour”

Old Salem Museums & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of America’s most comprehensive history attractions. The museums, the Historic Town of Salem, and the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts (MESDA), along with award-winning heirloom gardens, engage visitors in an educational and memorable historical experience about those who lived and worked in the early South.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
405 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fascinating history tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The highlights of our visit were the discussions with costumed hosts in most of the restored buildings. They did much more than recite rehearsed speeches but provided extensive responses to questions after determining our interests.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    287
    64
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Travel Back in Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

On our many occasions visiting Old Salem we always find something new to enjoy! The Old Salem Tavern serves a great lunch and we have enjoyed several meals and dishes including their popular Pumpkin Soup which is great this Autumn time of year. And the Bakery is always on our radar, the fresh baked goods are amazing, you can watch while they create their sweet bread from the wood-fired brick oven, free samples are typically given out too!

Plan to wear some good walking shoes as you will get a nice walk in between all the buildings, and plan on at least 2-3 hours at a minimum to see most of the open exhibits and live demonstrations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvisTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Old Salem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Loosely assembled collection of a by gone religious community. It was really hit or miss on the different docents giving tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip to OLD SALEM MUSEUMS & GARDENS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just wanted to let folks know that a trip with my granddaughter age 7 was so interesting. We enjoyed the Doctors Office but our favorite place was the place where the organ pipes were. The lady spent so much time with Carissa sharing the notes, pipe sounds. Such a dear sweet lady. I would suggest a trip to OLD SALEM with the family or with that special Grandchild.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynnleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“See History First Hand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Old Salem has more history than Williamsburg. The Moravian influence is still present as you stroll down Main Street. Visit Salem College, where pre-revolutionary women got their degrees and helped shape our country. Salem College (only for talented women undergrads) is open for visits, and you will be given a tour of the museum and grounds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Salem Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Old Salem Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing