We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Old Salem Museums & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of America’s most comprehensive history attractions. The museums, the Historic Town of Salem, and the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts (MESDA), along with award-winning heirloom gardens, engage visitors in an educational and memorable historical experience about those who lived and worked in the early South.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Can't comment on the gardens as we were there in December. However, we enjoyed the museum and the buildings that were open and the gift shops. Would have preferred the museum to be self guided as there was not really that much time to see all the furnishings in each room. The tour guidenwas excellent and very well informed, but just felt a little rushed. The tour guides in the buildings that were open were excellent as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    287
    64
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expericing History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an excellent place to take children to learn how the Moravian
people used to live. You can see them making pottery, cooking in old
brick ovens, carding wood, etc.

Helpful?
Thank Bryanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Woderful historical site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Be sure you take the tour to make the most of your experience. The "dressed in character" people are very knowledgeable about the period and the history of the settlement. A must do visit if you are in the area

Helpful?
Thank sasishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancleave, ms
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I visited Old Salem right after Christmas a few years ago and liked it very much. This time the museum was closed, several buildings were closed, there weren't many employees in period dress and hardly any craftsmen making anything.
Of course all the stores were open. Its more about making oney than educating the public about Old Salem now.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Year End Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed the knowledge of the volunteer docents at each of the buildings we visited. Everything was clean, including the restrooms!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Salem Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Old Salem Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing