We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average to good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average to good”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is worth a look. This is a slightly dated but still very adequate hotel. The decor is about 10 years behind the times but the rooms are spacious, clean, and the hotel has reasonable amenities. Breakfast is fair. Proximity to colleges and down town is excellent. The neighborhood is very safe. The staff was friendly and they did try hard. All in all, for a weekend visit to a college or a business trip it is one you can use with confidence.

Room Tip: Watch out for smoking rooms. Rear upper floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    44
    38
    40
    46
See reviews for
86
39
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

In town to move our son into dorm at Wake Forest. This hotel is in desperate need of renovations. Our room was musty & such high humidity that it literally made me sick - had to go to bed because of the moisture level in our room. After our first shower, the tub was stopped up and it took a very long time to drain. Left room for the day and, upon our return, the tub had been worked on because the tub stopper was left in the tub and it was disgusting to see the mildew/rust on the underside of the stopper and the drainage hole in the tub. When we brought it to the attention of the service desk, we were given another key to the room across the hall and told that we could shower in that one. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels06413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I usually do well with booking a hotel on the internet. This hotel is my exception! They lost my reservation. I wish i would have looked at that as a sign and left! Paper thin walls. Stiff, itchy sheets. Shady neighborhood. Seemed dirty. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingmama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a college visit to Wake Forest University. The hotel is tired and in need of updating. There is no a/c in the hallways and they smell musty. The first 2 rooms we tried were noisy and smelled musty and disgusting . We were supposed to have a poolside room and we did not get one. The third room we tried had large bugs all over, the door looked like it didn't fit (light coming in from all around) the a/c unit was VERY loud. The pool is a pit. I am warning you DO NOT stay here! There is a Courtyard Marriott right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pschultz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've always had pretty good luck booking motels online and they are relatively close to what I expected. BUT NOT THIS TIME! I thought by it being a Clarion motel it would up to par. Not the case at all. As a matter of fact i didn't see Clarion logo or name anywhere else inside the place!

When I got there they had no record of my reservation. Once I gave my confirmation # they found a room. While this was getting done it gave me a chance to ask why it was so miserably hot in the lobby and restaurant area. The A/C was out. Thank goodness the rooms were on a separate unit. But getting to the rooms, in the elevators and the restaurant ....all pretty miserable and smelled....lets just say "less than fresh".

I asked for a pool view room. I got one!! I didn't realize I would have to climb up on a chair to see over a wall that was between my room and the pool. I'm serious and I don't exaggerate. The beds were horrible and the television channels came in and out randomly. The vending machine had only 2 bags of chips...empty of every thing else. We stayed the 1st night because we were too tired to look for anything else.

When we got to the lobby the next morning to let them know we wouldn't be staying for the remainder of our intended stay....I waited 10 minutes for someone to show up at the front desk. (The phone was ringing most of the time.) Finally we went to the restaurant to have breakfast and the waitress found the front desk person for me. She was outside...smoking and texting! I will say the breakfast was delicious and the lady working the dining room was very helpful and service was great! I guess that was the only good thing about this stay.

Needless to say.......it was a thoroughly disappointing stay. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Keep driving if you are looking for quality or value. This one offers neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzle864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location for Wake Forest activities. Have full breakfast included in rate which is excellent. Rooms are average quality but clean. Only problem we encountered was making sure our reservations were accurate. We had 2 rooms over different numbers of days and that seemed to cause a lot of confusion for the reservation folks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBK00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Creek, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I reallly enjoyed this Hotel. It was a wonderful getaway. The staff was wonderful. They made our visit there so special, comfortable and inviting. I would love to go back soon. I loved the Day Spa and Salon. The staff was very perfessional. The king room was very clean and nice. The only thing we didn't like was the noisy air condition, but they are up grading their systems. Everything else was grand. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. Oh and the breakfast was awesome. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 38 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 38 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Property: Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing