We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

i was there for the weekend of January 18 for a Wake Forest event. The hotel is convenient and centrally located, near food options, gas and Wake Forest facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and painless except that we had difficulty with our room keys. Our room was at the further point from the front desk so we had to return to reset the keys. Still, one key card had to slide in and out fast while the other one as slow as possible. it just made it a pain to get in every time. The room was decorated very nice and in a unique manner. Rooms seem to be theme based decorated. The room was good size, the beds were comfortable. the room and bathroom were both clean. Old style TV was okay but the remote was an issue. First, it was not working. after the on phone instructions to reprogram failed, they sent someone upstairs. he programmed it and it worked for about 10 minutes. i was able to program it again on my own and it worked for a while but then the power button was not working. The air/heat was good and kept the room comfortable. Refrigerator was a plus in the room. The rate included breakfast, which was very nice. A wide variety, including healthy choices and fruit. the staff was helpful and friendly. the pool is outdoors so it was closed during my stay. there is a spa on site but i did not use their services. there is a gym but it was closed due to renovations. the hotel did provide access to the local YMCA while the gym was closed. overall, it was a pleasant stay. the hotel seems to be going through some much needed renovations. it seems to be dated but some things appear to be updated. the elevators are tired and slow. the staff's professional and friendly demeanor as well as its location make the stay worth it but the condition of the hotel is in dire need of updates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest:
Love your feed back. Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feed back with us. This is very helpful in finding out where we do well and where we can improve.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Mike Geissler
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    44
    38
    40
    46
See reviews for
86
39
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here - nice room, clean, bed was comfortable. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. It was more than just continental, a full hot breakfast with Starbucks coffee. That was a nice feature. We attended an event at the Coliseum and simply walked across the street to the the Coliseum which was very nice because they were charging for parking and it was packed when the event was over. We did have some snow/ice and hotel staff was very good putting out ice and clearing areas. Did not visit the spa or the restaurant in the hotel, but looked good. We had one issue with our remote control and staff was very nice trying to get the issue fixed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRM30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
review

October 8, 2012

Dear guest!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I am reading your review with great interest and share your comments with the staff. We strive to meet and exceed every guest expectation and it looks like we achived our goal with you. Your comments and feed back helps us find out where we are on track and where we have room to improve.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Mike G.
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I highly recommend Sundance to everyone visiting Winston-Salem. Every, and I do mean every, staff member that I saw smiled, said hello, and asked if I needed anything. My room was fantastic: it was clean, roomy, and quiet. I ate breakfast at Sundance and it was delicious and was made even better by the smiling server who helped me. Sundance is also extremely convenient to anywhere you need to go in Winston-Salem. Stay there - - you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
review

October 8, 2012

Dear guest!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I amvery happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sundance. All of us reading your review with great interest and share your comments with the staff. We strive to meet and exceed every guest expectation and we are happy to know that we met your expectation. Your comments and feed back helps us find out where we are on track and where we have room to improve. We would love to welcome you back to the property and showcase new and updated areas we have been working on since you stayed with us last. The excersie room and business center will be done by that time.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Mike G.
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Room was a normal hotel room, nothing special. Beds slept fine. It was just what we needed for our football trip to see Clemson play. A place to lay our heads. Where this place shines is the location. We couldn't have ask for a better location. Directly across the street from where the Deacons tailgate, with a back road that goes directly into the stadium. Also, another plus was that it was next to pizza hut (pregame food), and the included breakfast was one of the best that I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
review

October 8, 2012

Dear guest!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I am reading your review with great interest and share your comments with the staff. We strive to meet and exceed every guest expectation. Your comments and feed back helps us find out where we are on track and where we have room to improve. Thank you for your kind words. We are in the middle of our renovation and plan to be done by the spring of next year.
Hope to welcome you back to the property real soon and showcase the areas we have been working on. The excersie room and business center will be done by that time. We also have introduced our "Heavens at the Sundance" package featuring Spa Services as well as our Art Suites - Whirlpool rooms.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Mike G.
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blooming Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I travel for business and bring my family, I chose this hotel for the pet friendly policy. Which we were fully accomodated in this regard, the facilities are in need of updating, but considering this the rooms were comfortable with furnishings and linens that were noticably out of step with the carpet and permanent aspects of the room, it was a good stay. I.e. that they were a higher quality than the old carpet, rusted hinges on the bathroom door, and caulking needed in the bathroom. What marred our stay was the Volleyball team that checked in on our floor and proceeded to slam the doors, run up and down the hallway, giggling and laughing well past the time that people should be in bed. A call to the front desk and I was assured they woudl be quiet "soon". Unfortunately, never happened. While I understand it's the people that would not control the girls, it does make a difference to the guests who have early flights and want a decent night's sleep. The business center did not have a computer, nor was the excercise room available as is was under rennovation and you have to go to the local YMCA. These are things that are mandatory these days for a business traveler. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouse456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
review

October 8, 2012

Dear guest!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I am reading your review with great interest and share your comments with management and staff. We strive to meet and exceed every guest expectation. It is clear that we failed to meet your expectations. I am sorry about that. Your comments and feed back helps us find out where we are on track and where we have room to improve.
We are currently renovating and updating our property and plan to be done by this spring.
Would love to welcome you back to the property and showcase the areas we have been working on. The excersie room and business center will be done by that time.
Again, thank you for your feedback - does make a difference.
Sincerely,
Mike G.
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am surprised by the reviews of other parents who stayed here for family weekend at WFU. Our room, the "Tim Duncan" gallery room, obviously had not been renovated. The closet was more like a broom closet - too small. Carpet needs to be cleaned. Room was damp and musty. The final straw was our room was not cleaned. When questioning the front desk, we were told that housekeeping report stated we had a "do not disturb sign" on door. We did not - we were gone all day!!!! They did offer to clean the room but we declined due to lateness. Would not recommend. (A note to Tim Duncan - would have my name and pictures removed!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for staying at the Sundance Plaza Hotel, Spa & Wellness center and thank you for taking up your time and sharing your experience while staying at our hotel. We truely strive to meet and exceed each guests expectation but clearly did not achive our goal with your visit.

Your feed back is important to us because it provides us with information where we are doing well and where we have work to do. Sorry about the mix-up with housekeeping thinking you did not want to be disturbed. I am sorry for this matter. Your comments will be shared with all relevant staff and we will prepare an action plan adressing these issues.

We we have many many satisfied former and current athlets staying at our hotel. However, it is you we would like to welcome back and show you that your feedback made a difference. Please call me at my cell at 919 215-9372 when you are planing to return to WFU.

Thank you again for your comments,
Best wishes,

Mike G.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights there during parent's weekend at Wake, and were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the rooms, and the friendly staff, even on a very busy football and parent's weekend. Nice place considering how close it is to campus and the Stadium. Two things would put it in an even higher category; finishing the renovations to the business center and the workout area, and upgrading the free breakfast room and breakfast offerings. Surprisingly dated and used breakfast room furnishings, no healthy alternatives like fruit. Actually surprisingly 'back room' feel to the breakfast area in an otherwise very clean and modern looking hotel lobby and hallways. One bed's mattress was dated and saggy, and the air conditioner didn't work properly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbdlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest!
Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I am reading your review with great interest and share your comments with the staff. We strive to meet and exceed every guest expectation. Your comments and feed back helps us find out where we are on track and where we have room to improve.
We are in the middle of our renovation and plan to be done by the spring of next year.
Would love to welcome you back to the property and showcase the areas we have been working on. The excersie room and business center will be done by that time.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Mike G.
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 38 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 38 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Property: Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing