We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveler rating
235
144
49
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
235
144
49
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wake forest old salem baptist hospital medical center room was clean free breakfast shuttle service recommend staying here stay there again the staff was friendly and helpful mini fridge breakfast bar nice stay oatmeal fries downtown deborah
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 474 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Just spent a few days in Winston Salem and stayed at the Hawthorne. Great place to stay that isn’t too expensive. You can walk into the middle of the city for next there. About 20 min walk to my favorite pizza place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank ok1strat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

ok1start,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location while visiting Winston Salem. We strive to provide exceptional service and accommodations with each and every guest.

Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The outdoor swimming pool was beautiful. I stayed in the suite withv2 queen beds. The other room had a couch, tv, and microwave with mini fridge. The balconies are locked. I was disappointed however that the breakfast buffet was over at 930 am.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank meghanc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

meghanc1021,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We strive to provide exceptional service to each and every guest. It's great to hear you enjoyed our pool, as I believe it is one of the best in the downtown area. The pool area is private, and our maintenance team keep it well maintained. Thank you again for being our guest, we hope that you will visit us again when in the Winston Salem area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

I stayed here recently for one night while having tests done at Wake Forest Hospital. The location is great if you need to go to the hospital. Overall the hotel is okay if you are merely looking for a place to sleep for a night or two. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel appears to be well maintained but it is obvious that it is an older building. I was disappointed in the breakfast; overcooked sausage, lumpy scrambled eggs, grits and some bread & pastries. This place is okay if you are getting a discount for being a Wake Forest Hospital patient. Otherwise, skip it.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Ward416,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It's great to hear you found the room clean and your bed comfortable. I have shared your feedback with our food and beverage team as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope that when traveling back to the area you will give us another opportunity to earn your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

This is an older facility that has a musty odor the owners should address. I would not recommend this location until upgrades are implemented. There was a problem with my room at check-in. It took about 3 hours to get another room. The i's plenty of on-site parking. The breakfast buffet was decent. The staff is outstanding. They are friendly & helpful. The staff is but far the best asset of this facility.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank carasel1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

carasel1908,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We strive to provide exceptional service and accommodations with every visit. From your review it appears we have a lot of opportunity for improvement. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate parties, as we are always looking for ways to improve. It is great to hear you found our staff very friendly and helpful. We hope that when traveling back to Winston Salem you will give us another opportunity to earn your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Nice hotel. Stayed for work reasons, but would definitely stay again. Nice rooms, friendly staff, nice pool and the breakfast was amazing! Nice area with lots to do. Places to eat within walking distance. If this would not have been a stay due to traveling for work I am sure I could have enjoyed the area more. Only got to stay one night.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

T M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience! I'ts great to hear you found our hotel staff friendly and breakfast amazing. We truly strive provide exceptional service to each and every guest. We hope that when traveling back to the Winston Salem area we will be your choice in hotel accommodations. Thank you for being our guest, and allowing us the opportunity to earn your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews