We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, albeit odd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel seems dated and the layout is strange -- after initial check-in, you will likely use the back entrance, which is also the entrance to the Wake Forest sleep center. Pepsi products available in machines, but there is an excellent coffee shop (Twin City Hive) within walking distance. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and the free wifi is reliable. Not bad for a value hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 436 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I came to the city for the USATF Masters track meet. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and all of the staff members were professional and welcoming. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel a couple times, and the food was very tasty. However, each evening we could hear the guests in the room next to us, across the hall, and above us. Also, occasionally the toilet would make loud noises, even when the bathroom door was closed. One morning around 9am, we heard loud construction noises above us. If you plan to stay at the hotel during July 2014, you may want to check with the hotel to see if construction/renovation will be taking place.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no construction/renovation taking place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My mother had a Dr appts at wake baptist health and since we was coming from out of town we decided to stay there. Well let me just say all staff was great, especially the front desk, thanks Deborah your so sweet. My room was clean and had a very once stay. Room service available along with complimentary hot breakfast. The hotel is very nice and quiet well definitely stay there every time I make the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very clean room and a great staff made this a lovely stay for a wedding weekend! You could tell rooms had been completely renovated. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was ok but at least it was hot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here in April for 2 nights in order to visit Salem, which is very close. Ideally sited close to the interstate. A rather dated design of the 1980s or earlier externally but very large & well sound-proofed 2 room suites each room with a large screen TV. A small kitchen area although no provided utensils. Good free car park. Reasonable, overlooked little used pool.
My only complaint would be the restaurant. Breakfast hit & miss. Don't have dinner there! Very odd

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan140547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am a frequent business traveler to Winston-Salem, and have been staying regularly at the Hawthorne Inn over the past 2 years. I like staying at the Hawthorne Inn because of its staff, service, value, and location. I have found the staff to be very professional, friendly and go the extra mile to help me to be as comfortable as I can be away from home. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of. The continental breakfast is way above average with good hot food including eggs, meat, biscuits and gravy, fruit, breads, cereal, waffles and beverages. This may sound silly, but they have the fastest hotel elevators I have ever ridden in. The location is perfect! It is right on I-40 Business and near downtown, Wake Forest Baptist Hospital & University and Winston-Salem State. The W-S Dash play just a short distance away at BB&T Field. The Hawthorne Inn is also located in the historic section of Winston-Salem. And the hotel is just a few blocks away from the Visitors Center and the Strollway. The Strollway is an awesome walking/running path that goes from Old Salem thru to Downtown. So you can hop on the path and enjoy a beautiful walk to the restaurants and nightlife of downtown Winston-Salem. It has become my decompression place for business travel. If I have to be away from home so much for work, I am grateful to have a place like the Hawthorne Inn to stay in.

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent the weekend and was very impressed for the value of the inn. Rooms and most of the facility appeared to have been recently renovated and it was well done. I would rate this a 3 1/2 star property. Nice pool area, although it could use a splash of color, or a little music, just missing some atmosphere. The lobby was beautiful, the restaurant had a nice bar, but was badly in need of new carpet, maybe its up next because everything else appeared new and the free breakfast was ok, had sliced ham that looked like it was out of a store, could have used a few more items and it would have matched the rest of my exp. Also, it would be a big plus if the guest could access the balcony from the room, for some reason they are all shut off by the window in the room. However, the best feature of this hotel was the staff, they were over the top friendly at all levels. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wetracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.1 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
670 reviews
3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#25 of 38 in Winston Salem
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $89 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing