We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very clean room and a great staff made this a lovely stay for a wedding weekend! You could tell rooms had been completely renovated. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was ok but at least it was hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    127
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
108
57
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here in April for 2 nights in order to visit Salem, which is very close. Ideally sited close to the interstate. A rather dated design of the 1980s or earlier externally but very large & well sound-proofed 2 room suites each room with a large screen TV. A small kitchen area although no provided utensils. Good free car park. Reasonable, overlooked little used pool.
My only complaint would be the restaurant. Breakfast hit & miss. Don't have dinner there! Very odd

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan140547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am a frequent business traveler to Winston-Salem, and have been staying regularly at the Hawthorne Inn over the past 2 years. I like staying at the Hawthorne Inn because of its staff, service, value, and location. I have found the staff to be very professional, friendly and go the extra mile to help me to be as comfortable as I can be away from home. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of. The continental breakfast is way above average with good hot food including eggs, meat, biscuits and gravy, fruit, breads, cereal, waffles and beverages. This may sound silly, but they have the fastest hotel elevators I have ever ridden in. The location is perfect! It is right on I-40 Business and near downtown, Wake Forest Baptist Hospital & University and Winston-Salem State. The W-S Dash play just a short distance away at BB&T Field. The Hawthorne Inn is also located in the historic section of Winston-Salem. And the hotel is just a few blocks away from the Visitors Center and the Strollway. The Strollway is an awesome walking/running path that goes from Old Salem thru to Downtown. So you can hop on the path and enjoy a beautiful walk to the restaurants and nightlife of downtown Winston-Salem. It has become my decompression place for business travel. If I have to be away from home so much for work, I am grateful to have a place like the Hawthorne Inn to stay in.

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent the weekend and was very impressed for the value of the inn. Rooms and most of the facility appeared to have been recently renovated and it was well done. I would rate this a 3 1/2 star property. Nice pool area, although it could use a splash of color, or a little music, just missing some atmosphere. The lobby was beautiful, the restaurant had a nice bar, but was badly in need of new carpet, maybe its up next because everything else appeared new and the free breakfast was ok, had sliced ham that looked like it was out of a store, could have used a few more items and it would have matched the rest of my exp. Also, it would be a big plus if the guest could access the balcony from the room, for some reason they are all shut off by the window in the room. However, the best feature of this hotel was the staff, they were over the top friendly at all levels. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Like Justin C, I was here for the vintage BMW show and primarily stayed here for the convenience of staying in the "host" hotel. I checked in a bit before check in time and found that my room was not ready, but the staff remedied that little glitch quickly by moving me down the hall. The staff was very friendly and accommodating during my entire stay and genuinely interested in ensuring that everything was right for the weekend. The continental breakfast turned out to be a full American hot buffet and while not the best I've ever had, it was certainly good enough. A huge plus for the Hawthorne is that it's an easy walk to downtown and very convenient to old Salem where the car show was held. All in all, a very good choice for WS.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in town for Wake Forest graduation and needed a nice central location to stay. The Hawthorne fit the bill. Although this may not be the most modern facility, it was certainly not lacking in anything that we needed for this long 4-day 3-night weekend. We stayed in a suite to accommodate our son who was traveling with us. This allowed all of us to have our privacy and plenty of space. The refrigerators came in handy. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all felt rested upon awakening each morning. The location is perfect for travel to Wake Forest, and for sightseeing in Old Salem and the downtown area. The breakfast buffet was not huge by any stretch - eggs, breakfast meat (changed by the day), fresh fruit, pastries and cereal - along with coffee and juices. It was a quick in-and-out, self-serve breakfast which is perfect when you are on the go. The eggs were especially tasty! Parking was no issue and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The on-site laundromat came in handy - this is not a feature that I normally do not need to use when traveling, but was very grateful that it was there when I needed it. This was a pleasant trip with no issues or complications.
A heads-up for Wake Forest parents - we booked this in January through Expedia before we were aware that WF had reserved a block of rooms for graduation. By doing this, we missed out on the discounted rate that the Hawthorne offered for graduation guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YngSilverfox39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxvill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Came to Winston-Salem for the Vintage 2014 BMW car show over the weekend. Rooms had been updated, quite, and comfy and I slept very well. Staff was very polite and attentive. The location is a few blocks away from Fourth Street as well as close to Old Salem where the show was being held. The pool was clean and had been opened early for our stay. Since I ended up booking late, the BMW block rate for the second night of our stay was all taken up and was going to pay full price for the room. Not a big deal at all, but the fantastic part was when I received my bill, the rate was included and had been deducted from my final bill without ever inquiring if I could have the rate for the second night. Will be staying here again for next years show!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing