We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Me and the kids stayed in a suite overnight just to get away from the norm. The room was very clean, the breakfast spread was plentiful, and other than the 3am-4am domestic dispute in the parking lot outside the stay was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UltraStar175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 440 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I absolutely love the Hawthorne Inn! Everytime I stay here, the service is always wonderful, the front desk employees are always nice to me and they make sure that my stay at the Hawthorne Inn is a great one. The rooms are always clean and comfortable to my needs. I would recommend everybody to stay at the Hawthorne Inn because they will leave satisfied like I do everytime I'm a guest here. I really appreciate the great service and I will be back sooner than later!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tal2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had nice clean rooms. The staff at front desk very friendly and helpful. A very nice free breakfast. The option of warm food was great. Needs some small cosmetic fixes: gfi bathroom outlet wouldn't work, a few loose bathroom tiles behind door - but no mold. I liked the updated bathroom sink. Very cute.

Breakfast staff-although helpful she look like she was pissed off. She never smiled. She left the room and was gone quite a while.

Pillows are uncomfortable.

Overall a good visit and we will be back again. As for the breakfast lady, she is just a challenge to make her smile.

Happy Holidays breakfast lady! Not sure about kids activities or spa-didn't think there was one.

Room Tip: Room 420. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel scenery was very nice, the hospitality could have been a bit better. The rooms were of decent size and the room service was fast and efficient. Overall my staying was indeed an ok experience. The food was good, and the staff was quite helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights. The hotel staff were all friendly, but the entire property needs to be renovated. The double beds in the room were extra small, the furnishings were very dated. The common areas and elevators need updating too. The staff went out of their way to bring us lemonade to our room when the vending maching ate our money, and the staff in the free breakfast area were friendly. But overall, this property needs to be updated to justify the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed at the HI and Conference Center in the past. You can't beat the rate they give patients of Wake Forest Baptist. The rooms are great and the staff are very nice. The hotel while old looking on the outside is quite modern inside. The only disappointment this trip was the change in their complimentary bathing products. I really loved the orange scented products they used to have and was looking forward to using them again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place is always consistent in cleanliness, courtesy of the staff and discounts for hospital patients and family. We won't stay anywhere else in Winston-Salem. We have found the best and plan to stick with the folks at The Hawthorne. It is our home away from home!

Room Tip: The views from higher rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
684 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.5 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 38 in Winston Salem
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $113 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing