We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Clean Stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Park, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Clean Stay"”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The check-in and check-out was very quick. They are striving to be environmentally friendly. The only negative I had is that they had the toilets set to use little water when flushing. The only problem that created is that it didn't take the paper down when it flushed. I was there on business with several others, we all had the same commit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    124
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
107
54
29
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel for the rate. It was super clean, and friendly staff went out of their way to help. I was very impressed with how efficient the check-in line was. Would recommend to anyone. Executive suites are large and divided, lots of desk space & legroom. Large bed, decent view. Breakfast was average but fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeardedSkeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night this past weekend after reading the reviews. Very beautiful hotel with what I would call historical charm. Obviously the building itself is older but at some point has been updated. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. We ate in the restaurant twice once for lunch and once for breakfast. Lunch was awesome...breakfast in the bayberry rest not so much. Food took 40 min to come and was cold when it came out. But other than that very close to 4th street strip where there are resturants galore and great people watching I would definatley stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chevionp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were just stopping for the night on our way to Myrtle Beach. The Hawthorne Inn had good reviews from other travelers and appeared to be close to restaurants, gardens and some historical sites. As it turned out, it was raining so we didn't venture out. The food in the hotel was good but not remarkable. Breakfast was served in a different place and consisted of the typical serve-yourself hotel breakfast food. The rooms was comfortable and modern - very good value. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. I'd like to go back when it isn't raining to check out the gardens and historical sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I came to stay here for a family wedding, held at the same hotel. The entire staff was incredibly nice, and everything about our stay was excellent. The room was really nice and clean. I appreciate the fact that there was not only a fridge but a microwave as well. The free complimentary breakfast was great, and I would certainly recommend the food from the catering side of things as well. Overall a great experience, and given the opportunity to be in town again, we would certainly considering staying here again.

Room Tip: The elevators are really fast, so don't worry about getting to any floor. Odd rooms face the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although the building looks a little old from the outside everything inside is very nice, remodeled, and clean. The room was great and the staff was friendly. There was also a very extensive free complimentary breakfast. Very lose to everything as well. Awesome discounts for those associated with the medical center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNgirl423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I needed a place close the the Wake Forest Medical Center where my husband was having medical procedures for several days. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the room was very comforable and provided extras to help in overall comfort including microwave and refrigerator. The shuttle bus to and from the medical center was a real bonus for me, so I could leave early and come back late and never worry about driving or parking. This hotel offers true value and comfort, I could not have hoped for a better place to stay. We have to return in month or so and will not hesitate to go back to the Hawthorn Inn, and hopefully this time we can also enjoy the breakfasts and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
2.7 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing