We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal, clean and modern rooms, great complimentary breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although the building looks a little old from the outside everything inside is very nice, remodeled, and clean. The room was great and the staff was friendly. There was also a very extensive free complimentary breakfast. Very lose to everything as well. Awesome discounts for those associated with the medical center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNgirl423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I needed a place close the the Wake Forest Medical Center where my husband was having medical procedures for several days. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the room was very comforable and provided extras to help in overall comfort including microwave and refrigerator. The shuttle bus to and from the medical center was a real bonus for me, so I could leave early and come back late and never worry about driving or parking. This hotel offers true value and comfort, I could not have hoped for a better place to stay. We have to return in month or so and will not hesitate to go back to the Hawthorn Inn, and hopefully this time we can also enjoy the breakfasts and restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great stay... Clean rooms... Nice people... Very helpful. Wish I could have used the balcony...Easy access to city. No paper towels in the kitchen..... Tvs worked great . Thanks for everything. We loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summers317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had 2 surgery's at Wake Forest University Baptist Hospital and the Hawthorne Inn was there to help. The hospital shuttle picks you up and returns you back to the hotel for no charge. The lunch at The Bayberry Bistro is oustanding as is the dinner. The stress from surgery is there, but the hotal helps limit the overall stress levels. The rooms are spotless and very clean. A refrigerator and microwave in the room as well. Coffee pot for those that need it early. They also have a complimentary hot breakfast for thoses that are visiting with you for your surgery. If you just need a hotel near the hospital this is the one to be at.

The bathroom amenities are also top notch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsmnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

While it's less frills than the Marriotte or Embassy Suites, the roomas are every bit as nice and the hospitality superb. I love this hidden little gem for top quality at a great price. When I stay in Winston-Salem, I always stay at the Hawthorn. The other perk is that it is clean, non-smoking (for those of us with asthma this is a great plus) and has a lovely restaurant as well.

Room Tip: I like to stay in rooms over looking the pool, but in general the backside can be quieter in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great Hotel, great service & accommodations. Fantastic Buffet Dinner and decorated Ballroom. Everything was absolutely great. My only suggested would be to keep the lobby bar open past 10:00 pm when a large gathering is there for those who care for an adult beverage. I was a little embarrassed when repremanded for bringing an alcoholic beverage into the ballroom after the bar was closed. Outside of that, all was well and will definitely consider staying again on my next visit to Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjohn244888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I arrived late on a Thursday. The hotel staff was there to help me out right away. I was also able to change rooms and get on the same floor as a good friend of mine. We were there for a reunion and the Hawthorne was our home for the weekend.
Very quiet place. I manged to get a room on the sixth floor with a great view of the city. They have breakfast there in the morning as well. But there are plenty of places to eat within walkin distance.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and had a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ok1strat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
684 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.5 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 38 in Winston Salem
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $114 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing