We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winston Salem's Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Winston Salem's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had 2 surgery's at Wake Forest University Baptist Hospital and the Hawthorne Inn was there to help. The hospital shuttle picks you up and returns you back to the hotel for no charge. The lunch at The Bayberry Bistro is oustanding as is the dinner. The stress from surgery is there, but the hotal helps limit the overall stress levels. The rooms are spotless and very clean. A refrigerator and microwave in the room as well. Coffee pot for those that need it early. They also have a complimentary hot breakfast for thoses that are visiting with you for your surgery. If you just need a hotel near the hospital this is the one to be at.

The bathroom amenities are also top notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    119
    40
    18
    15
See reviews for
105
49
28
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

While it's less frills than the Marriotte or Embassy Suites, the roomas are every bit as nice and the hospitality superb. I love this hidden little gem for top quality at a great price. When I stay in Winston-Salem, I always stay at the Hawthorn. The other perk is that it is clean, non-smoking (for those of us with asthma this is a great plus) and has a lovely restaurant as well.

Room Tip: I like to stay in rooms over looking the pool, but in general the backside can be quieter in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great Hotel, great service & accommodations. Fantastic Buffet Dinner and decorated Ballroom. Everything was absolutely great. My only suggested would be to keep the lobby bar open past 10:00 pm when a large gathering is there for those who care for an adult beverage. I was a little embarrassed when repremanded for bringing an alcoholic beverage into the ballroom after the bar was closed. Outside of that, all was well and will definitely consider staying again on my next visit to Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjohn244888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I arrived late on a Thursday. The hotel staff was there to help me out right away. I was also able to change rooms and get on the same floor as a good friend of mine. We were there for a reunion and the Hawthorne was our home for the weekend.
Very quiet place. I manged to get a room on the sixth floor with a great view of the city. They have breakfast there in the morning as well. But there are plenty of places to eat within walkin distance.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and had a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ok1strat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been staying at Hawthorne Inn almost twice a year for two years, due to Dr. appointments and out patient surgery. We have never been disappointed. Free hot breakfast, always tasty. Resturant has good food and it's convenient. They have in room service, which is a blessing when I didn't feel like going out to eat due to medical problems. Don't hesitate to stay there. Very nice place.
It is in walking distant of Old Salem. I appreciate the fact that they offer a discount to people that come in for medical reasons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scgal1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are in the tennis business and cover a half dozen or so professional tournaments a year. We attended the Winston-Salem Open this week and stayed three nights at this hotel. We selected it for the price.

Everything at the hotel was just fine, including the room, the breakfast, the front desk staff, and the business center. However, the hotel does not provide heat for the rooms from Memorial Day to Labor Day. You read that correctly.

Even though it was August, the first night got down to 62 degrees and our room got down to about 65 degrees. I learned about their heating policy when I called and asked the front desk how to turn on the heat. They did offer to bring up some blankets.

Room Tip: They call the lobby level the second floor so if you get a room on the "first floor" it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A great place. Clean rooms, comfortable and great staff. Plus, it's near Salem College, where our daughter is a first-year, and it plays terrific jazz instead of muzak 24/7. Our second trip was brief, barely overnight, but the first two or three nights and was terrific. We left a laptop in the room that time and they shipped it to us at no cost to us. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.5 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#15 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Recently scored a 98, highest grade in Forsyth County, on our state inspections in both sleeping rooms and food and beverage *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing