We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Hawthorne” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Virginia
1 review
“Stay at Hawthorne”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Check in was normal. When we went to our room we found a workmans cart with buckets of paint on it and caulking guns. This should not happen. The next day we were taken to the Hospital by your shuttle. After my surgery, I called for the shuttle and was told it would be there in a few minutes. After a long wait, we called again and was told the same thing. Still after a longer wait a shuttle (not yours) came. He said he didn't know what was happening to yours as he had heard it called for two or three times. He took us back to Hawthorne Inn. It was not pleasant sitting at the pick up point over an hour just after surgery.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    119
    40
    18
    15
See reviews for
105
49
28
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

During the time of check in, everything was great. At night, it was a chore for my family and I could not get any sleep. I was patience enough in hopes for the noise and the party to die down or minimize, but that did not happen. Around Saturday morning at 1:00 am, the noise, the running, and the music got progressively worst, then finally at 1:30 am I called the front desk and reported my concerns. The front desk told me others had reported the same incident on the seventh floor and security was going to shut them down. It took around 2:15 am when some postive change occurred, but still noise, running, and yelling. Translation, we didn't have a good night sleep or stay. I mentioned my experence at the check out desk before I left, but I felt I got a " blanket " apology with no sincerity to the statement.
Thank you for reading my communication.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The room was clean and had plenty of light. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot, which we enjoyed using. The room service was prompt and the food was very good. The only problem we had was with the bath tub / shower arrangement. We are old and unsteady on our feet. It was dificult getting in and out of the tub. There were no grab bars. We felt unsafe when using the shower and when getting in and out. The tub was lined with a non-slip covering, which was good, but we needed grab bars also. We don't travel much and did not think to ask about the bath accommodations. I don't know if this property has accommodations for the old or handicapped. Next time we will ask.

Room Tip: If you are hadicapped or old, ask for a room with a bath equipped for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Wonderful accommodations and very caring staff. I would recommend The Hawthorne Inn to anyone staying in the Winston area. Don't miss out on their experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Inn was acceptable and not that bad, it is based on very basic furnishings including the Poly filled uncomfortable pillows and hard mattress. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall you should expect an Okay stay. Just don't look for Luxury I would choose the Marriott instead and the price is almost the same.. Spend an extra 20-40 and you get a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Expect basic but enjoy the staff and Breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meme_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I really enjoyed this property and the location. I attended a conference at the hotel this February and had such a wonderful time, I am suggesting it as the location for another planned conference. They were easily able to accommodate our group of 400+ people. I loved having a refrigerator and microwave in every room (at other hotels, this is often a separate charge) and the room rate was very reasonable. The complimentary breakfast included fresh fruit, which again is not a common feature in many hotels. I highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atiya-in-Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My son needs special medical help available at Winston Salem Baptist Hospital, we will be coming down at least 8 times in the next year. Our first visit, we stayed at a different hotel and we not impressed. Thank Goodness we found the Hawthorne!! It was clean, the room was nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the hot breakfast was delicious, the hotel was secure AND we got a discount because of our affiliation with the hospital.
One of the doctors we needed to see was less than a block away. Although we didn't use it, I understand there is a shuttle to the hospital. An added plus is that it is only a few blocks away from a ton of fun places to eat and shop.
I loved it and plan to return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olisajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.5 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#15 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Recently scored a 98, highest grade in Forsyth County, on our state inspections in both sleeping rooms and food and beverage *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing